/
posts
Life

I thought no one read sports?

Well, I officially ended my time in the 20s on Saturday, when I hit the big 3-0.

I didn’t feel any different when I woke up that morning. I guess I was expecting to get lifted in the air and shot with bolts of lightening ala Highlander when I turned 30. Stalk informed me that happens when I turn 31.

I certainly didn’t feel like I was any older than I had been the previous week. Then I feel asleep on the coach Monday night sometime after 9 p.m. Luckily I had DVR’d Matlock and had drank my Metamucil before I fell asleep.

Sigh…

Sweet Vindication

I was told this phrase wasn’t appropriate for the news I received on Monday, but I disagree.

The Associated Press Sports Editors awards contest is officially underway, and the first list of winners were announced on Monday. Much to the surprise and delight of Evan and myself, won for best Sunday Sports Section, circulation of less than 30,000. Ten winners are announced for each category.

This is a national contest, so earning a top-10 finish is a huge accomplishment. Corey and I won honorable mention for Sunday Section (Top 20) in 2008, as well as honorable mention for Special Section in 2007.

Actually winning this year, though, is a pretty special accomplishment. I’d say it is the best award I have won in my career.

Of course, Evan and I are enjoying this even more, knowing how bad it makes the GCDN look. We had one of 10 best Sunday Sports Sections in the country. Now there isn’t even a Sunday Sports Section, and both of those writers are gone. Way to improve the product boys.

I posted the news on Facebook with the title “Sweet Vindication.” One of the editors at the GCDN called to say congratulations, followed by a semi-threat.

“If you pull anything else like putting ‘Sweet Vindication,’ then none of us are going to help you with your job search.”

Wow…just wow. It’s amazing to see true character come out.

I’m sorry, but this is sweet vindication for me. I don’t care if the only reason for my lay off was because of financial decisions.

We were told no one reads the sports section, which is why they had to lay me off. They couldn’t sell advertising, because it didn’t appeal to the masses.

The sports editors from around the country disagreed. They said it was one of the best. I’m sorry, but I will take their opinion over the advertising folks at the GCDN that can’t sell any damn ads.

The APSE should be announcing the writing awards on Tuesday and Wednesday. Evan and I have our fingers crossed. Should we win a few awards there (and we think we have a great chance), then it will be even more vindication for us.

Now to add this award to my resume…

Birthday fun

I had my 30th birthday party at Benihana and then the Flying Saucer. It was a great time with my friends out here.

Five people were able to make it to Benihana, including Yeh-Peu-Dah. She treated me to dinner (Filet Mignon and Sea Scallops, yum!) and even got me a fantastic Strawberry Cheesecake from Cheesecake factory. She also got me an awesome Bon Jovi book.

She did pull a trick on me, though. When I went to blow out my candles, it turned out they were of the trick variety. I was definitely fooled.

Had four more of my friends join us at the Flying Saucer. I’ve now reached 67 beers out of 200. It’s been a slow trek, but I think if I get a job downtown, that will steadily increase.

Overall, I’d say it was my best birthday get-together since I moved out to Houston. Thanks to everyone that showed up. It meant a lot to me.

Here are a few pics.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Job search

Still haven’t heard back from CenterPoint Energy, but I still have a good feeling about it. I picked up my altered blue suit on Sunday to be all set when they call and want me to come in for an interview.

Hopefully I find out soon.

Mad Ramblings

• Interesting research done on Ferris Bueller’s trip to Wrigley Field. I can’t believe someone took the time to actually do it.

• A dream for every Cubs fan — Pujols in Cubbie blue.

• Fantasy baseball season is almost here. I picked my three keepers for this season — Hanley Ramirez, Justin Morneau and Jason Heyward. Also already made a trade with Cuddles, sending him a first and fourth round pick for Shin-Shoo Choo. I think that’s a good start for another championship season.

• New season of Survivor starts Wednesday. Can’t wait.

• Bon Jovi is coming to Houston in May, and I bought tickets. I told Yeh-Peu-Dah she has to attend no matter what. We’ll see if she still likes me after a Bon Jovi concert.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm a PR Coordinator at Moody Gardens.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “I thought no one read sports?

  1. My response would have been, “You’re so right, I’m sorry. Remind me of all the things you’ve done to help me get another job? Oh, right, nothing. Go fuck yourself.”

    Does Cuddles know that he’s courting a prison term by trading away an Asian player. The People’s Security forces will not aprove.

    Posted by southernmaninindy | February 15, 2011, 1:24 pm
  2. With about 75-percent of my students being Korean, I will get in some trouble if word gets out that I traded him off of my fantasy team. They adore the guy and were rooting for South Korea to win the Asian Games, not for pride, but for him not to have to serve in the military.

    My students, who are from South Korea and Singapore, are required to serve two-year military terms. There are ways to cut the terms by a few months in Singapore if you can pass a physical fitness test. In Korea, I believe that you can serve your term by the time you are 30, but if you have two kids, then you can skip the military.

    If you skip out on your term all together, then you are not allowed entrance to your home country for life!

    Posted by Matt Perdue | February 15, 2011, 8:15 pm
  3. FYI, Buck, you are definitely dating up!!

    So, after I read the article in the GCDN about your awards, I commented. You should go on there and read the comment!!

    Posted by Colts-Gal | February 17, 2011, 2:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Apparently my kid is the Bobby Fisher of Jenga! #yolo #ikeeplosingtoafiveyearold Another day at the office... In honor of the start of #SECMD14, I'm wearing this today. I BELIEVE! #ItsSunday #1N1T #USA Boogie got an award for good behavior at school. It may be hot in Texas, but apparently hell has frozen over. Date night to see Ralphie May!
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

