/
posts
Life

Jews sure know how to party

Back in the summer of 2009, I hired a talent young writer named Evan Mohl.

Evan and I accomplished a lot of good things in our time together at the GCDN, ultimately winning best Sunday Sports Section in the national Associated Press Sports Editors awards.

Even after I was laid off and he moved to El Paso shortly thereafter, we have stayed in touch.

This past weekend, I had the honor of seeing my favorite Jew get married. And boy, was it a party.

Evan has a great sense of humor, so I’ve made plenty of Jew jokes throughout the year. However, I was quite intrigued to see what a Jewish wedding was all about.

The wedding was in Dallas, so I made it a weekend road trip with my lovely plus-1, Yeh-Peu-Dah.

We ended up staying in the Hotel Lawrence, an older place in downtown Dallas. The wedding was right across the street at the Old Red Museum, so Evan had gotten a special rate for those that decided to stay there.

The hotel was very much an older place that hadn’t been updated in a while. The window was cracked, the tub didn’t drain well, and we actually had to call to request a comforter. The Embassy Suites this was not.

We were invited to the rehearsal dinner at the El Fenix in Dallas. They had rented a room above the restaurant, and had more than 100 people in attendance.

The enchiladas were fabulous and there was an open bar with free margaritas. Score!

The wedding was Sunday night, so Yeh-Peu-Dah and I spent the morning watching the Houston Texans game at BW3 and visiting a friend of hers that lived in Dallas.

When we arrived at the Old Red Museum, we were treated to another open bar. I also was quick to grab a kippah to wear during the wedding.

The ceremony was quite interesting. It was very old school, including Hebrew chants and, of course, the breaking of the glass.

It was a great ceremony, but it was pretty hot in the room. This turned out to be bad, as the heat caused Yeh-Peu-Dah to pass out in the elevator right after the ceremony. Luckily, after about 15 minutes to recuperate, everything turned out OK. It was still quite a scare for me.

An hour-long cocktail hour was preceded by dinner so the wedding party could finish photos. I was able to catch up with some old friends from the GCDN, Rhiannon, Mark, Jennifer and Marty.

The cocktail party and the dinner featured an open bar as well. I love Jewish weddings!

The dinner was fantastic, with some chicken, salad and amazing cake. There was also a dance floor with a live band called Professor D. This guy may have been the highlight of the night.

At one point, Professor D started singing “You Shook Me All Night Long” by AC/DC. Now Dr. D was a black man, but he sounded just like Brian Johnson.

Mark and I figured there was no way he was singing it. He had to be lip-syncing.

That’s when the band pulled out signs that said, “Yes, he is really singing.” That was followed by another sign that said, “Yes, he is really black.” Awesome.

The dancing started at 7 p.m. and lasted until 11. Yes, following dinner, I hit the dance floor for the first time since college.

I’ve never been much of a dancer, but honestly, I feel so comfortable with Yeh-Peu-Dah that I feel like I can be a goof and she won’t mind.

Yeah, I had five Jack and Cokes by this time, but honestly, I think I would have danced even without the booze. It was a lot of fun and Jennifer took a few snapshots of the spectacle that was me dancing with Yeh-Peu-Dah, Evan and even Evan’s mom.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thing I learned from the wedding — Jews love to drink and they know how to party!

Overall, it was right up there with Andy’s wedding as the most fun I have ever attended. Considering I wasn’t suffering a massive champagne-induced hangover that prevented me from drinking water for about 18 hours, I would say I probably had more fun at Evan’s (sorry Andy).

Yeh-Peu-Dah and I concluded the trip with a nice lunch at an Asian dumpling place in downtown Dallas.

Overall, it turned out to be a fun trip, getting to see a good friend of mine get hitched. He is definitely marrying up, so even more congratulations are in order.

Mazel Tov!

Mad ramblings

• I don’t want to brag, but I have actually done well in my NFL playoff predictions. I am 6-2, including getting three of the four finalists correct. I am especially proud of my Giants over Packers pick.

However, I did lose my predicted Super Bowl champs pick when New Orleans lost to San Francisco. But I’m sure I wasn’t the only one.

• This weekend’s predictions: Baltimore over New England and New York over San Francisco.

I think Baltimore wins by four points, while the Giants win by double-digits. Considering I despise San Francisco, I really hope I am right on my NYG pick.

Joe Biden is an idiot. He should let Obama stick to the sports talk.

• I’m not sure if I agree with this recruiting agreement Nick Saban made with a recruit.

• Some people have serious problems, as was evidenced by this sex sting involving former pro golfer Steve Thomas.

• The SOPA and PIPA inspired blackouts by Wikipedia and others appears to have worked pretty well. Hopefully when it comes to voting times, those opponents of the bill stay on that side.

My boy Andy had a good take on the blackout.

• So long Rick Perry (though it sucks that Texas gets him back). Hopefully Craig James is next.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm a PR Coordinator at Moody Gardens.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Jews sure know how to party

  1. Considering you actually had a date and a full stomach for this reception, I wont hold it against you. However, don’t tell my wife – she may kill you.

    Posted by Andy | January 19, 2012, 6:47 pm
  2. I pick Patriots over Ravens. :)

    Posted by Rosemary | January 20, 2012, 8:31 am

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Frozen in Ice Land... Again... Enjoyed getting to hang out with Tom Kenny, the voice of SpongeBob SquarePants, the past two days. Enjoying Tom Kenny, voice of SpongeBob SquarePants, and the Hi-Seas! Love it when my Pops goes to Alaska! #RudolphTheYummyReindeer My little Mary Poppins Site of another Aggie beating at the hands of Alabama in 2015
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

