/
posts
Sports

Horrible Predictions: MLB 2013 Season

I call these horrible predictions, but I must say, my preseason MLB picks were anything but horrible last year.

Yes, I only got five of the 10 playoff teams correct, but I totally nailed San Francisco over Detroit in the World Series.

Was it pure luck? Have my prognostication skills improved over time? I guess we will see this year, as once again I try to correctly pick the outlook of the MLB season.

By no means should you go to Vegas and put your life savings on these picks. However, I do have a few hunches this year that I have confidence in.

AL East

1. Tampa Bay – Longoria has to stay healthy this year, but I love the pitching staff. Having the best manager in the game doesn’t hurt either.

2. Boston – Things can’t be worse than they were last year for the Red Sox. I think they are actually a sleeper to make a WC run.

3. Toronto – Lot of big name additions, but Miami wasn’t exactly stellar with those guys.

4. New York – The injuries will be too tough to overcome.

5. Baltimore – I totally believe last year was a fluke. Sorry Orioles fans.

AL Central

1. Detroit – The Tigers are going to run away with this division again.

2. Kansas City (WC) – Love the additions…enough to say the Royals are playoff bound this year.

3. Cleveland – Probably will make a run at .500, which is a dramatic improvement.

4. Chicago – I can’t see the White Sox maintaining the success they had last season.

5. Minnesota – I think it is going to be a rough season in the Twin Cities.

AL West

1. Los Angeles – This will come down to the wire, but that line-up is going to be too tough to stop.

2. Texas (WC) – Losing Hamilton hurts, but Berkman could be a sneaky good free agent pick-up.

3. Oakland – The A’s are going to be in the hunt again…and I wouldn’t be shocked if they actually win the division again.

4. Seattle – If they were in the Central, they would battle for a playoff spot.

5. Houston – No comment.

NL East

1. Atlanta – The Nationals are getting the headlines, but I think the Braves are perfectly constructed for the regular season.

2. Washington (WC) – I would worry about a sophomore slump for Harper, but that rotation is nasty.

3. Philadelphia – I can see a quick start before fading after July.

4. New York – Probably going to be among the five worst records.

5. Miami – May give the Astros a run for their money for No. 1 pick.

NL Central

1. Cincinnati – Defense is going to stink, but that bullpen is going to be key to a lot of wins.

2. St. Louis – Because they are always in the playoff chase.

3. Pittsburgh – I think this is the year the Pirates finally finish over .500.

4. Chicago – Another rough season for my Cubbies, but I love the talent they are acquiring for their 2014 line-up.

5. Milwaukee – I think Braun will get suspended this time by MLB and that will result in the Brewers bottoming out.

NL West

1. Los Angeles – I mean, with that payroll, they better win the division.

2. San Francisco (WC) – The defending champs have the pitching staff to make the playoffs again.

3. Arizona – Early season injuries may result in a slow start that is tough to overcome.

4. San Diego – Have some young talent, but still probably a couple of years away.

5. Colorado – If Tulo gets hurt again, they will get a top 5 pick in next year’s draft.

Awards

AL MVP: Mike Trout, Los Angeles

AL Cy Young: Justin Verlander, Detroit

NL MVP: Justin Upton, Atlanta

NL Cy Young: Gio Gonzalez, Washington

AL Divisional

Detroit over Texas: Detroit rolls through with a sweep over the Rangers.

Los Angeles over Tampa Bay: David Price gets a Game 1 win for the Rays, but the Angels win the next three.

NL Divisional

Washington over Atlanta: Strikeouts doom the Braves, as the Nats are better constructed as a postseason squad.

Cincinnati over Los Angeles: The big names flame out for the Dodgers, and the Reds pull over a sweep.

League Championship

Los Angeles over Detroit: Going to be a war, but the Angels win the final two to take the series in seven games.

Washington over Cincinnati: The Nationals rotation leads to a series win in five games.

World Series

Los Angeles over Washington

Trout vs. Harper! A long lay-off hurts the Nats and an early 2-0 series lead for the Angels results in winning the title in six games.

Mad Ramblings

• I’m not going to sit here and explain to non soccer fans why they should have enjoyed the scoreless tie between the U.S. and Mexico on Tuesday. Frankly, the outcome of that game is exactly why it will never be a top 3 sport in this country.

However, for those of us that are soccer fans and are emotionally invested in the USMNT, that game was intense. I was on the edge of my seat for the last 15 minutes as the U.S. tried to hold on for a precious point. Combined with the win over Costa Rica in the snowstorm last week, I’m feeling much more confident about our chances to make the World Cup.

What was especially impressive about those two games is how injury ravaged the USMNT defense was in the game. No Tim Howard and three of four back line starters out had me nervous. But the U.S. showed amazing heart, which makes it fun to root for this squad.

• Yeh-Peu-Dah and I got a Groupon for a drive-in theater in northwest Houston, which proved to be an awesome deal. We got to watch two movies (OZ and Jack the Giant Slayer), plus get two drinks and a large popcorn. Totally worth it.

As for reviews of the movies: I thought OZ was well done and would actually like to see Sam Raimi take a shot at remake the original Wizard of Oz. Jack the Giant Slayer turned out to be a lot better than I thought, and was entertaining. It would be worth a rent.

• I played golf on Thursday, and while I didn’t break 100, I was hitting the ball the best I have ever. My friend gave me a couple of times with my swing, and the next thing you know, I was cranking out some 200-yard drives and flashing some pretty strong (for me) iron play. If I could have putted worth a shit, I would have easily had my personal low.

• I ended up with one of the biggest successes of my early PR career this week.

We had a baby King Penguin hatch at Moody Gardens earlier this month. During a squabble between two of the adult penguins, the baby received a pretty nasty cut on its back. After a few weeks healing, the little guy was healthy and ready to meet the public.

Because he was a tough guy, I proposed naming him after the toughest guy in Houston – Texans star defensive end J.J. Watt. It took a little selling, but eventually, my idea was given the green light.

It turned out to be a great success. The Houston media ate it up and it was highlighted on four of the five major TV networks out here. It was also picked up in other Texas cities, and Wisconsin ran it several times as well.

Even more exciting, when I tweeted out the picture and blog on the penguin, J.J. Watt actually retweeted it. It was awesome! My mentions started flying through the roof and I was retweeted over 75 times. Highlight of my twitter career.

Now my goal is to try and get J.J. down here for a charity event to meet his penguin. Let’s see if I can get it done!

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm a PR Coordinator at Moody Gardens.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

My little Mary Poppins Site of another Aggie beating at the hands of Alabama in 2015 Hanging out w/ @skhanjr in College Station. Talking some college football. Ghostly Gardens with my friend Charles McCullough! Boogs helped me carve this awesome pumpkin! (she actually bailed at the gutting stage... 😕 ) Come see our #SelfiePumpkins at @moodygardens this weekend!
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

