/
posts
Life

I’m back…

It’s been three years since I was blogging on a regular basis. After several posts a week for two years, I found myself with no time to keep it up. I was too busy with the job, the wife and eventually, the kid.

Well, a lot has changed the last few months. I got laid off. I’m getting a divorce…again. And — the one thing that actually makes me sad — I only have my little Boogie half the time.

Now most people going through all of these things at once would likely turn to depression and/or recreational drug use. Not me. Instead I’m using this newfound time to bring the blog back!

I know you are all excited.

+++

For those that didn’t follow the old blog on myspace, here’s what you can expect.

• Random, and what I believe to be humorous, stories

• Sports commentary

• Dating (mis)adventures

• Random pop culture

New additions:

• Hunt for a new job

• Fatherhood

• Revisiting the old blog archives

+++

When it comes to dating and referring to past relationships in this blog, I use an old nickname system created with my buddy David Clemons (Scoop) when we were in college. The entire naming system is based on baseball.

• Jessica, Ex-wife No. 1 (2002-06) = Mark Prior

Reasoning: Everyone thought he was a franchise changer, but turned out to be a moody, bitter disappointment which fans eventually hated.

• JT (2007) = Manny Ramirez

Reasoning: ManRam is a blast to have on your team at first and is very impressive at the plate. He’s also bat shit crazy.

• Liz, Ex-wife No. 2 (2007-10) = Miguel Tejada

Reasoning: Everyone loves Tejada. That is until you realize he’s horribly defensively. And are those steroid allegations true? Wait, how old is he? This isn’t the Tejada we thought we were getting when we signed him to a multi-year contract.

• Any future girls are prospects that start out in the minor leagues and can move up or down from Double-A, Triple-A or the big leagues based on potential. (As you can see, Scoop and I were pretty much dorks in college.)

If the prospect turns out to be crazy, then they earn a nickname. Let’s hope I don’t have many more of those.

+++

So I’m a twice divorced, unemployed single father as my 30th birthday rapidly approaches. With all that in mind, Scoop and I came up with the new name for this blog: Rebuilding the Franchise.

I thought it was a pretty fitting title as I attempt to find a new career, rebuilding the team budget and try to replace a barren farm system. I’m essentially the Pittsburgh Pirates. It’s time to turn the franchise around.

I hope everyone enjoys the new and improved blog. Reader feedback and participation is highly encouraged.

Be sure to subscribe!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “I’m back…

  1. Wait, what was my baseball nickname in college? So excited about the new blog, bud!

    Posted by stephanie newton | December 31, 2010, 7:17 am
    • So you’ll have to ask our resident elephant Scoop, but I’m almost positive the prospect list was created after you entered “friends” status. However, I do remember early on, your nickname was Sports Babe.

      Posted by Joshua Buckley | December 31, 2010, 10:40 am
  2. In fairness, the Pirates management couldn’t care less if they ever win again. I say you’re more like the Royals. Despite all the bad, there is still hope in management.

    I look forward to these blog posts.

    Posted by southernmaninindy | December 31, 2010, 8:24 am

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Cubs World Series picture and Red Robin. My girls know how to treat me on Father's Day. The sound quality wasn't too great at NRG last night, but the Metallica show was still amazing. Seeing them play so many songs from one of the best albums ever - The Black Album - was something I've always wanted to do. #bucketlist Ready for Metallica! Not gonna lie... I want this suit! Whelp, let's try this... #stopsnoring Linsey Alexander with a surprise cameo on the Blues guitar.
