/
posts
Life

Five reasonable resolutions

So the disastrous year that was 2010 is finally over. None too soon I might add.

I brought in the New Year playing scrabble with friends Corey, Sam and Victoria. It was way more entertaining than last year when I stayed at home alone while Tejada was doing whatever it was Tejada did when I wasn’t around.

New Years is the time everyone chooses to make resolutions to change their lives. How many times do those end up being carried out for a full year, though? 10 percent? 15 percent?

The problem is most people pick resolutions that aren’t easily attainable. Smokers don’t really want to quit smoking. Lazy people don’t really want to exercise. It’s destined for failure.

That’s why, when coming up with my resolutions for the new year, I tried to pick things that are realistic. Doesn’t mean they won’t be difficult to accomplish, but at least I’m giving myself a chance from the onset.

Here are my five resolutions for 2011.

1. Blog/Tweet more

Obviously I’m off to a good start this year. Hopefully social media can be a good outlet, seeing as I am not doing any other writing on a full time basis.

2. No more hydroplaning vehicles

Now see, this would seem like an easy thing to do. However, it has been proven to be difficult for me in the past.

Like this time.

Or this time.

Yeah, I like my new car, so I’m going to try and avoid spinning out of control on wet roads this year.

3. Don’t get married and/or knock any one up

Again, this has proven to be a much more difficult task than it should be.

The prospect list is pretty much barren right now, so there is no potential danger at this time. However, if/when I end up with a prospect in 2011, I should probably be…ah…a little more careful.

4. Don’t get locked in any stadiums

In 2010, I was locked in three different football stadiums (CCISD, The Rig and Rice) and nearly was closed in two more. The most memorable incident was when I had to escape CCISD Memorial.

Now I’m hopeful to have some kind of stringer work for the 2011 football season, which would mean the potential is there to be locked in. I may start carrying my lock cutters just in case.

5. Hmm…I can’t really think of a good resolution for No. 5.

I am open for suggestions. What’s a realistic resolution for me in 2011?

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Five reasonable resolutions

  1. I’m with you on resolutions. I don’t make them because I always figured, if I need to exercise, why wait until Jan. 1. It would have been true on Aug. 16; why not just start then?

    Posted by David Clemons | January 3, 2011, 1:25 pm
  2. I have one!! Finally pay up all the debts you owe!! Wait, that takes money…..

    Posted by Colts-Gal | January 5, 2011, 12:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Friendly message from the postman that was left on my door. #YouveGotMail #RollTide Great scene at Concord Bridge - free BBQ and supply dropoff for a neighborhood flooded during the storm. #HoustonStrong #RollTide Proof that we have been surviving the storm. #Harvey #BeerMe Mandatory #Houston sunshine photo. Great to see after the past four days. This is the retention pond behind our neighborhood which is protecting our homes from being flooded. Earlier this week it was empty. Now there is more than 10-feet of water in it. It actually went down a bit this afternoon when we got a slight break from the rain. It can still hold another 12 or so feet before it goes over its bank. Hopefully it can hang in there the next few days.
