/
posts
Archives

Archives: Three’s company, eight is a crowd

I promised that periodically I’d revisit posts from my original blog on myspace. I figured the first archived post would be one of everyone’s favorites from Aug. 2007.

Three’s company, eight is a crowd.

Here’s a little background information before reading:

I broke up with Man-Ram in July of that year, so I rejoined match.com later that month. This wasn’t really the smartest move for several reasons, which I will address at some point (we call those teasers in the news business.)

Anyway, I met a girl on there who I nicknamed Tiger Girl. Now why would I name a prospect Tiger Girl? Because she was actually a white tiger trainer at the Houston Aquarium. Pretty crazy, huh!

So, I was meeting this girl on a Friday night, the same day I got my Vibe back from the shop after wrecking it in June.

We will pick up the story there. I’ll also throw in a few editor’s notes along the way.

+++

Friday started off with a bang. Before I had even gotten out of bed, I had already received two calls:

• No. 1 — My car was FINALLY fixed!

• No. 2 — Red is coming to Houston to visit her dad at the end of the month and wants to see me when she’s out here.

<Editor’s note: Red was a college friend. It was a complicated friendship to say the least…>

Needless to say, I already had positive vibes surrounding the day, which was good since I had my first date with Tiger Girl later that night. I bummed around the apartment for a few hours, before getting ready and hitting the road to downtown a little after 6 p.m.

The plan was to meet her at the Flying Saucer, a bar located downtown. It turned out to be the coolest restaurant I’ve been to in Houston thus far. Seriously, how have all you Houstonites failed to mention this place to me?

This place offers 200 different beers on its menu, which is cool enough. But you can also join the “UFO Club,” which keeps track of what beers you had at the restaurant. Once you tried all 200 (you can only get credit for three each night), you get your name engraved on a saucer that is hung up on the wall.

Ah…where do I sign up? So for $14, I got my UFO card and a “Flying Saucer” shirt. And now, I’m only 197 beers away from getting my name hung up on the wall.

<EN: And so, the quest for true alcoholism began…>

Anyway, back to the date…

When I get there, Tiger Girl has already found a table…and she has a friend with her.

“I just happened to run into my roommate from college,” Tiger Girl explained. “Her husband’s meeting her, so I figured since it was crowded we could sit at the same table. This wasn’t on purpose, I promise.”

Right… But that’s OK — whatever makes her more comfortable.

So I spend the first 30 minutes entertaining Tiger Girl and her married friend. I told the whole saga involving my car and the “fagatrocious” rentals I’ve been dealing with. They got a good kick out of the story.

<EN: I had to drive five rented/borrowed vehicles while my car was in the shop. Had a contest on the blog, with the winner of the “fagatrocious” car being a tie between Man-Ram’s yellow VW Bug named the Skittle and a rented PT Cruiser. It definitely was not the Summer of Josh…>

Anyway, while we are sitting there, one of Tiger Girl’s friends from the aquarium calls. She doesn’t answer the phone, but checks the voicemail a few minutes later.

Apparently, it’s common knowledge that Tiger Girl and her other friend (the one I’ve been entertaining thus far) frequent the Flying Saucer on Friday nights. So the aquarium friend and her husband have decided to invite themselves and are on their way to the restaurant.

I also find out at this point, that Tiger Girl’s friend’s husband who is en route has picked up another couple in Galveston where he works (confused yet?).

Long story short, by the time all these people arrive, what I thought was going to be a one-on-one date, has turned into a table of eight.

“I’m so sorry,” Tiger Girl said with an embarrassed look on her face. “I promise that I didn’t plan this.”

Right…

<EN: In the words of Ron Burgundy: “Boy, that escalated quickly… I mean, that really got out of hand fast.”>

Also, one of the downsides to the Flying Saucer is that it’s extremely loud. I can’t really hear what Tiger Girl is saying, and her friends keep wanting to talk to her as well. Kinda frustrating…

Then Tiger Girl mentions that the Houston museums stay open late for some kind of “singles night” on certain Friday nights. She was pretty sure the Natural History Museum was hosting it that night.

“Is that something you’d be interested in doing?” she asked.

Let’s see…get out of the loud restaurant and away from “unexpected” friends so I could get a chance to actually talk to this girl…“Check please!”

So we got in my Vibe and drove to the museum. Of course, we got there at 10:10 p.m. and discovered that it had closed 10 minutes earlier. Yeah, that figures…

The museum was close to Rice Village, though, so we got back in the car and drove there. We ended up going to the Gingerman (a bar with a nice outdoor patio in the back) and got a chance to talk for a while.

Tiger Girl became pretty entertaining at this point. She’s got an awesome sense of humor (along with a very cute smile) <EN: I was completely overlooking her horrible hairstyle, though> and is extremely passionate about her job. It’s always enjoyable to meet people that put happiness ahead of money like I’ve chosen to do with my life.

<EN: Until you get laid off. Then you have no money and no job to be happy about. FML>

Unfortunately she had to be at work at 6 a.m. on Saturday and then run in a three-mile race sponsored by the aquarium later that morning. So we left the Gingerman around midnight and I drove her back to her car, also a Vibe.

I gave her a hug and told her we’d have to get together again some time.

“Definitely,” she said, before returning a kiss on the cheek. So I guess she had fun…

If I had to rate Tiger Girl on the prospect list right now, I’d say she’s batting eighth for the AAA team. She’s got potential, but some more evaluation is needed before she’s moved closer to the top of the batting order.

<EN: Realistically, the player development staff should have jumped in and clearly recommended she actually be a platoon player in the Double-A ranks.>

I’m going to ask her out for sometime next week (my grandparents are coming out here on Friday, so it will likely have to be Wednesday or Thursday when I see her again.) I think I’ll take her to dinner somewhere on the island, that way I’ll have a lot more time in the car to talk to her.

Of course, I’m going to have to kid around with her about the friends “randomly appearing” at the Flying Saucer. Because let’s be honest, there’s no way that was an accident…

+++

Tiger Girl and I didn’t end up going out again. I asked her out about a week later, but she had some lame excuse why she couldn’t go. I can take a hint, and she wasn’t really worth the effort to continue trying, so I let it drop.

However, that date continues to make a positive impact in my life, though, thanks to the discovery of the Flying Saucer. 64 down, 136 to go.

Hey, it’s a marathon, not a sprint…

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Archives: Three’s company, eight is a crowd

  1. It took me a second, but then I completlely remembered this post and the date. Yeah, honestly, the development staff should have stepped in an really had some more input about the entire player development process at that point in time. But like so many organizations, we continue to bow to a megalomaniacal owner who thinks he really knows “what’s best” for the franchise . . . but I appreciate the job, Boss!

    Posted by southernmaninindy | January 6, 2011, 8:30 am
    • Much like Bud Adams, I am making a more conscious effort to listen to my personnel department. I figure you are the VP of player personnel. I have to get approval (like this last time) in order to proceed with a prospect.

      Posted by Joshua Buckley | January 6, 2011, 9:45 am
  2. I missed this story the first time around, so I love that you chose this one to re-post. However, I’m still trying to get over you calling the Red friendship “complicated.” Gross understatement, friend.

    P.S. Do all the beers have to be at the same Flying Saucer? We have one in Nashville. *hint, hint*

    Posted by Stephanie Newton | January 6, 2011, 8:57 am
  3. Josh, I hope that number of beers has increased. My friend Keelan is o. Something like his 7th platter!!

    Posted by Colts-Gal | January 6, 2011, 10:51 am
  4. Dude, I’ve heard of the Flying Saucer and I’m in a different state.

    Posted by Carla Jean | January 6, 2011, 11:23 am
  5. I like the blogs of Josh past. Keep up the good work. (Yes, that’s what she said.)

    Posted by Kim | January 9, 2011, 2:22 am

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

I hate summer. 😑 Always great to see my brothers! #familytree So, this was at a truck stop in Louisiana. I'm sure the tiger is thrilled with this situation. After more than 9 years, I finally earned my 200-beer plate at Flying Saucer! Rooting for a true American hero in one of our favorite sporting events of the year! #hotdogeatingcontest My wife surprised me with a House Stark #GOT shirt! #bestwifeever
