/
posts
Life

Swimming with the fishees

Working on a blog entry for next week, so tonight you just get photos from me and Boogie’s trip to the aquarium on Saturday — and of course some random thoughts.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Random thoughts

• Two playoff games in and I’m already 0-2 with my predictions. Told you not to take those picks to Vegas.

• That Marshawn Lynch touchdown run late in the fourth quarter was awesome. That’s the type of run you see in high school football when one kid is athletically superior to everyone else on the field. I won’t say it’s the greatest run in playoff history, but it was fun to watch.

• I love how everyone is basically saying Peyton Manning’s window has closed. Give me a break. His team this year was devastated by injuries, and he was still a few seconds away from a playoff win. The Colts will be back again next year as long as they stay healthy.

• BTW, this was the first time in years I’ve been able to watch two playoff games on wild card weekend. I’ll get to watch both of them on Sunday, too. Got to admit, it’s nice not having Tejada around to bother me.

• I never thought I’d say this, but…Go Pack Go. A win by Green Bay means Seattle comes to Soldier Field next week. I’d rather Chicago face the Seahawks than Philadelphia.

• Finally, applied for a media relations coordinator job at Fulbright and Jaworski L.L.P. It’s an international law firm that is headquartered in Houston. Here are some of the job qualifications.

• 3-5 years experience in Public Relations or Journalism (check)

• Understanding of news process (check)

• Knowledge of social media (check)

• Strong writing and proof-reading skills (check)

• Excellent ability to forge good working relationships (check)

• Ability to multitask in a fast-paced environment (check)

So pretty much, I have all the skills for this job. I just think it will come down to whether a big law firm wants to hire a sports guy. I guarantee this — if I get an interview, I’ll get the job. No doubts.

• Also, I created a page on here with links to some of my favorite and award-winning articles. Hope you enjoy.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Swimming with the fishees

  1. That reminds me of your RA interview. What was it you said? “You know what? I don’t have any weaknesses.”

    Posted by David Clemons | January 9, 2011, 7:18 pm
  2. Hmmm, yeah, this time around, if they ask you about weaknesses, you should probably come up with a different answer.

    Posted by Andrew | January 9, 2011, 8:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Friendly message from the postman that was left on my door. #YouveGotMail #RollTide Great scene at Concord Bridge - free BBQ and supply dropoff for a neighborhood flooded during the storm. #HoustonStrong #RollTide Proof that we have been surviving the storm. #Harvey #BeerMe Mandatory #Houston sunshine photo. Great to see after the past four days. This is the retention pond behind our neighborhood which is protecting our homes from being flooded. Earlier this week it was empty. Now there is more than 10-feet of water in it. It actually went down a bit this afternoon when we got a slight break from the rain. It can still hold another 12 or so feet before it goes over its bank. Hopefully it can hang in there the next few days.
