/
posts
Life

Lou to the rescue?

Today’s blog was supposed to be the first edition of the new (mis)adventures in dating. However, I got an interesting phone call on Sunday, so instead the dating update will come later in the week.

So I was getting ready to take Boogie to Tejada’s place on Sunday when I got a phone call from Lou Savarese.

For those who don’t know Savarese, he was a heavyweight boxer from Houston. He won the New York Golden Gloves Championships twice in his amateur career and went on to have a successful pro boxing career (46-7 record, 38 knockouts).

After his boxing career, Savarese tried a little acting, but decided to get in the fighting promotion business in 2009. This is when Lou and I first met.

One of our local boxers, Eugene Hill was the main event for Savarese’s first show at the Hilton Americas Hotel. We had spoken on the phone a few times leading up to the fight and I got to meet him that night. The dude is 6-foot-5, 250 pounds, so when he gave me a man hug (you know, the handshake that turns into a hug), he nearly killed me.

Lou’s a pretty funny guy. He admits his boxing career has taken a toll on him, and as a result, sometimes you have to really listen to what he is saying. He always loses his phone because, “I’ve been hit in the head too many times,” he says.

Lou and I have become friends over the past two years. We’ve gone out to lunch a couple of times and he always gives me the latest scoops regarding the area’s boxing scene.

He also brought a boxing show to Galveston County for the first time in more than 20 years. He had four shows in Texas City and Galveston, and of course, I always gave it good coverage.

Anyway, I hadn’t spoken to Lou since November. Word of my layoff had apparently reached him, though, so he gave me a call on Sunday.

We talked for a bit about the newspaper business, the rise of social media and some of the other stuff that was going on in my life. A friend of ours who was a boxing manager recently committed suicide, so Lou was definitely glad to hear how positive I was about my whole situation.

He asked me what I was hoping to do in looking for a new career. I told him I was going to pursue something in PR or media relations. He said he wanted to help me out.

Being a big-time boxer from Houston, Lou has a huge network of people that he knows in town. He said he wanted to use that networking to get me a job.

He asked me if I had applied anywhere yet, and I told him about applying at Fulbright and Jaworski.

“Well there you go,” he said. “The first place you mention and I already know a big wig there. I’m going to give him a call tomorrow.”

Awesome!

Lou asked that I sent him my resume. We are also meeting for lunch later this week so we can come up with a “plan” to have him help me get a job somewhere in the city.

Obviously this is potentially a big break for me. As I said yesterday, if I can get an interview, I’m confident I will get the job. Hopefully this leads to something good real soon.

What are my weaknesses?

Whether Lou can help me get an interview somewhere or not, at some point I am going to have one. In preparation, I’ve been going over some of my ideas and pitches in my head to sell a company on my skills.

Now I am a pretty confidant when it comes to my career. I remember getting advice when I was in high school for a successful sports radio guy.

“You don’t just have to think you are the best,” he told me. “You have to know you are the best.”

Ever since, that has been the motto I’ve lived by when it comes to work. It was obvious when I was interviewing to be an RA at Montevallo my sophomore season. They asked me during the interview what my weaknesses were.

“Honestly, I have no weaknesses,” I said matter-of-factly.

Needless to say, they were stunned by that answer. I got the job, though.

Honestly, that question has always stumped me. I’m not going to give some bullshit answer like, “I have a tendency to plan too much,” or “I’m a workaholic.” Way too cliché.

The only real weaknesses I could ever think of is that I’m egotistical or I don’t always take to criticism well. Not sure if those are good or bad things for an interview.

So what should I say when I’m asked what my weakness is during an interview? Any help would be appreciated.

Final thought

• Bring on Seattle, baby!

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

 

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Lou to the rescue?

  1. ok — when i’m interviewing counselors for summer camp (do i sound like carolyn or what) — i want honesty. I want them to say i’m not a morning person if they aren’t, i want them to say they don’t like working in groups if they don’t, etc. about the only thing they can say to me that would cause me to not hire them is if they say they don’t like kids (great, thanks for being honest but that’s kind of a requirement here). now i understand camp is completely different from the “real world” so my advice is to say something (like i’m too egotistical) but stay away from “i don’t take criticism well.” no one wants to hire someone who can’t be taught. i’m so excited for you and i’m not kidding — truly an inspiration.

    Posted by Chris Paragone | January 10, 2011, 8:31 am
    • Well I could definitely go with the “I’m not a morning person” route, because I am definitely not a morning person. Then I could always throw in some humor with, “But that’s why they make five-hour energy.”

      And thanks for the kind words. Not really sure I am an inspiration, but I’m just trying to entertain people with my issues makes me feel a lot better about things.

      Posted by Joshua Buckley | January 10, 2011, 3:19 pm
  2. I’m not saying you have to give a cliche. But an interview in the grown-up world versus an RA interview are about 1000 miles apart from each other. If you go into that law firm for an interview (because I’m hoping you will!) and you tell them that you have no weaknesses, they’re gonna think that you have zero ability to look at the complete picture of a situation and access honestly all the plusses and minuses of any given situation. The simple truth is that we all have weaknesses, and as an interviewer, i want to know that you can be honest about that.

    So yeah, maybe you shouldn’t be honest about being egotistical (though in a way, saying you have no weakneses would kinda throw that out there anyways). If you really think your only other weakness is how you receive feedback, then I encourage you to find a way to give that as an answer. You don’t have to frame it as a horrible problem, or even one that is still a major problem. Example:

    “I think something that I’m still working on is how to best interpret and use constructive criticisim. I think first coming out of college, I had a bit of a habit of taking criticims personally, as if it was more to do with me than just my work. I’ve learned over the years, though, how to better take criticisim and interpret it, using it as just another tool to make myself a better writer. So that’s probably the main thing I’ve struggled with in the past, but I think it’s something I’ve gotten much better with at this point”

    I think if, as an interviewer, I heard that, I’d appreciate your honesty and, as a boss, would actually think it’s good, because then when I gave you constructive criticism in the future, I’d know that it’s something you’re actively working on how to take well, and we could have an open and honest dialogue about it.

    Posted by southernmaninindy | January 10, 2011, 8:56 am
  3. That is awesome to hear Josh. Let me know how it goes. One of your weaknesses: you’re biased. You love Clear Springs and hate Dickinson. Use that!! Also, why is Eugene suspended?? Do you know?

    Posted by Colts-Gal | January 10, 2011, 5:45 pm
    • To my understanding, Eugene accidentally hit a ref during an altercation with his opponent after the bell. Both were disqualified and suspended for six(?) months.

      And I do love Clear Springs. I love Dickinson, too, though 😀

      Posted by Joshua Buckley | January 10, 2011, 5:49 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Haven't been to a football game with my dad in more than 10 years. Really excited to get this opportunity today! Seeing the Eighth Wonder of the World with a snow-covered roof was pretty awesome this morning. Cool Ring of Honor celebration for Andre Johnson. Well, this is one way to clear all the inventory you had left over when he left for Indy/retired. Friendly message from the postman that was left on my door. #YouveGotMail #RollTide Great scene at Concord Bridge - free BBQ and supply dropoff for a neighborhood flooded during the storm. #HoustonStrong
