/
posts
Sports

Roll Eagle? War Tide? Alabama (the state) rules

I was facing quite a quagmire on Monday night.

I’m an Alabama fan, so naturally I despise Auburn. I also lived in Eugene, Ore., for a brief while, so I’ve always liked the Ducks.

So that meant I was rooting for Oregon in the BCS Championship Game? Not exactly.

See, I still have a lot of Auburn friends and I love the SEC, so a part of me thought I should root for the Tigers

Heading into the game, I decided I didn’t care who won — all I wanted was a good game. Well, a good low-scoring game, since I had my parents put $20 on the under (72) since they were in Vegas today.

Yet, after Oregon had tied the game and Auburn had the ball, I found out where my true allegiance was.

With my state and my conference.

Congratulations to Auburn for winning the national championship. I definitely was rooting for the Tigers late in the fourth quarter and had no doubts they were going to win.

I think there is one thing that Alabama and Auburn fans can agree on this night — the best college football in the country is played in the Heart of Dixie.

I think the BCS should just go ahead and give the winner of the SEC an automatic berth in the title game. Heck, go ahead and just give the winner of the Iron Bowl that spot in the title game.

Now for the bigger question — who would win in a match-up between this year’s Auburn squad and last year’s Alabama team? That would be a game.

More random football thoughts

• Was Auburn over Oregon the best BCS title game ever? Bill Plaschke seems to think so. I still say USC vs. Texas was better, but that’s just my opinion.

• All of the TCU fans/bandwagoners that are proclaiming the Frogs as the national title winners, please shut up now. TCU would have no shot at beating an SEC defense. None. Zero. Zip.

• With the No. 1 pick in the NFL Draft, the Carolina Panthers select…Nick Fairley, defensive tackle, Auburn. Damn that dude played out of his mind on Monday. Oregon’s linemen are going to have nightmares about him for years.

• I saw nothing tonight that changed my mind about Cam Newton. I think he is going to be a successful NFL quarterback, in the mold of Ben Roethlisberger, assuming he doesn’t end up with a team that refuses to take advantage of his strengths.

• As much controversy surrounding Newton, let’s be honest — every major college program has multiple players that get paid. People that deny that aren’t living in the real world.

• I thought Nick Saban and Urban Meyer did a great job with ESPN coverage. Even off the field, the SEC dominates.

• My favorite tweet of the night came from Montevallo grad Jim Dunaway: “great moment before the game…ESPN Analyst Nick Saban walked onto the field in front of AU section, 20,000 boos, Nick smiled and waved” Awesome.

• Are LSU fans secretly hoping Les leaves for Michigan? I think so.

• What I wouldn’t give to be a beat writer for the New York Jets. Writing about what Rex Ryan says would make that job so entertaining.

Job search update

So it turns out that Pam Easton is the Media Relations Manager at Fulbright and Jaworski. My former co-worker, TJ Aulds, has known Easton since her time working with the Associated Press.

TJ gave her a call about me on Monday. She said she will be sure to look for my resume.

This potential job opportunity is building steam each day. Let’s see if it results in me getting an interview. </fingerscrossed>

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Roll Eagle? War Tide? Alabama (the state) rules

  1. This may possibly be the worse blog post in the history of blogging! After reading this article, I am beginning to question our friendship!

    1. This game sucked… minus the last five minutes. This is what happens when you wait 5 weeks to play a game. Teams get rusty, thus leading to penalties and sloppy play. Oregon’s QB was AU’s third-best player tonight behind Dyer and Fairley.

    2. How can you ever root for Auburn? It is impossible to be a “TRUE” Alabama fan and root for Auburn. I despise everything they stand for! SEC pride goes out the window when Auburn is on the field.

    3. Nick Fairley is a THUG! He has all the potential in the world, but will end up on the NFL suspension list for cheap shots on a weekly basis or on the end of a Ray Lewis beat down by one of his own teammates! If he grows up and learns how to read, he can be a great NFL player with a Suh type rookie impact.

    4. On a neutral field, Alabama 2009 would beat Auburn 2010 by 2 touchdowns. Our defense would have easily shut Newton down. I would predict a 24-10 type score. We did not have the corners this season to trust on an island. With the 2009 defense, we could leave our corners on an island and commit everyone else into the running game, thus stopping Newton. Plus, our offense was much more steady last year with a better offensive line that opened up Ingram and Richardson!

    5. USC vs. Texas was easily the best BCS title game. This game did not come close to comparing!

    6. I am not a fan of Cameron Newton. I think his past transgressions will catch up to Auburn, but luckily he will be making millions in the pros. He can be a good QB in the right system, I just hope it is not with my Redskins (Jason Campbell)!

    7. If everything is on the up-and-up with AU this season, then they deserve the title. Alabama had their chance to keep them from it, but choked!! No excuses. I think Bama will use this as motivation to win next year’s title, just like they did the year before following the Florida defeat. We return a phenomenal defense with only one loss of substance, Dareus, and an offense that must replace its best QB, RB and WR. I do not worry about the first two, but I am not sure if we have anyone to replace Julio on the roster. He is one of my all time favorite players!

    Buckley sucks!

    Posted by Matt Perdue | January 11, 2011, 3:28 am
    • See Cuddles, this is why you shouldn’t have moved to China. I clearly needed my right-hand man to talk some sense into me last night. I disagree with a couple of thing, though.
      • I actually thought the game was quite intriguing after the first quarter. Not high scoring, but goal line stands are always exciting.
      • Some of the best NFL defenders are dirty players. Fairley will fit right in.
      I do agree on your Bama 09-Auburn 10 prediction. Would be close for a while, but Bama would where them down in the second half.
      Love ya Cuddles :-p

      Posted by Joshua Buckley | January 11, 2011, 10:52 am
  2. Haha. I like this Matt dude!! LMAO

    Posted by Colts-Gal | January 11, 2011, 6:58 am
  3. Quick thoughts:

    1) I agree with Cuddles 100%. Seriously? You “have” to root for Auburn out of SEC pride? Screw that, and screw Auburn.

    2) That said, I had no doubt they were gonna wrap it up in the last 4 minutes.

    3) Is there a more overdone sports article than the “what we just witnessed was the best _____ ever!” article? Good lord, it just reaks of sensationalisim and makes me usually lose a little respect for that writer.

    4) I am so, so scared that Michigan is going to let themselves get suckered into Miles. Every LSU official, alum, and fan is playing it like this “What? No, we love Les, you can’t have him! . . . Wait, wait wait, don’t walk away. Ok, if you reallllllly want him, I guess you can have him” {all the while, screaming with joy on the inside}

    5) Could anyone have looked happier than Rex Ryan after Folk kiked that FG?? If they beat Belichek, Ryan might start licking Sanchez’s feet right there in the middle of the field.

    Posted by southernmaninindy | January 11, 2011, 8:32 am
    • 3) I absolutely agree. Total BS. It’s like how everyone was proclaiming the Marshawn Lynch run as the greatest in NFL playoff history. I mean, it was great, but it was a wild card game.
      4) Considering LSU fans wanted Miles fired after the Tennessee debacle, I think you are right. They are going to be quite excited to see him head north.
      5) Mental image /throwsupinmouth

      Posted by Joshua Buckley | January 11, 2011, 10:54 am
  4. I’d have to take the 2009 Alabama team against 2010 Auburn simply because Bama’s defense was better then. For that matter, so was Mark Ingram. It would be a death match, for sure.

    And, yes, the 2006 Texas-USC game was better. It was the rare game that delivered what it promised. As exciting as Auburn-Oregon was, we didn’t get what everybody expected.

    Posted by David Clemons | January 11, 2011, 9:12 am
  5. Can we talk about how I lived in Alabama for 10 years and really don’t care about either of these teams? I root for Bama with as much hesitation as Auburn, and yet can careless if they win or not.

    Allen and I did discuss, however what we would do if Vandy ever made it to the National Championship game. (Even though we both agree, the odds of this happening are worse than the Cubs.) Besides both being so excited we’d be mentally unglued, we still wouldn’t be one of those wackadoos that pay $5,000 a seat.

    Posted by Stephanie Newton | January 11, 2011, 11:32 am

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Friendly message from the postman that was left on my door. #YouveGotMail #RollTide Great scene at Concord Bridge - free BBQ and supply dropoff for a neighborhood flooded during the storm. #HoustonStrong #RollTide Proof that we have been surviving the storm. #Harvey #BeerMe Mandatory #Houston sunshine photo. Great to see after the past four days. This is the retention pond behind our neighborhood which is protecting our homes from being flooded. Earlier this week it was empty. Now there is more than 10-feet of water in it. It actually went down a bit this afternoon when we got a slight break from the rain. It can still hold another 12 or so feet before it goes over its bank. Hopefully it can hang in there the next few days.
