/
posts
Life

Tony Parker is an idiot…and apparently so was I

It’s the blog entry you all have been waiting for — the first chapter of the new dating (mis)adventures.

Now before anyone starts panicking, I am not looking to get in a long-term relationship quickly like I was when Prior and I got divorced.

I’ve actually been enjoying being single part-time again (the other time I’m a daddy for little Boogie). I can make last-minute plans to hang out with friends like I did on Sunday and Monday, or I can sit at home and watch football.

It’s been fun, and more importantly, quite relaxing.

That said, it is always fun going out on a date with an attractive woman. This time around, I’m actually looking forward to dating and meeting new people, though let’s hope I can avoid the majority of the crazies.

I just hope, as I head into my 30s, that I am finally realizing that I can date a girl without getting into a serious relationship. Not saying I want to date a new girl every week. Let’s be honest, that’s not me.

However, I’m hoping my improved player personnel team will keep me from repeating any stupid decisions.

With that disclaimer out of the way, here is the scouting report on the first prospect, post-Tejada.

+++

A few months back, when I finally realized I had no feelings left for Tejada and was actually glad she was gone, I decided to sign up for an online dating site again. Now obviously, my results with online dating have been mixed to say the least. However, it was tough to meet women with the sports writing job, so I figured what the heck.

Well I realized as soon as I finished the sign-up that it was a waste of money. I was looking for divorced women in the area because I figured that was the best route for someone in my situation.

Turns out all of those people are looking for their soul mates and/or someone to have more kids with. Me, not so much. As a result, I never even sent out an email to anyone.

So I wasn’t paying attention to the site at all, when one day I got an email from someone with the subject, “Hey stranger.” I recognized the name and realized it was from someone I talked to back when I was on the same site in 2007.

This girl is a huge San Antonio Spurs fan, so I’ll call her Eva Longoria in the blog.

I was pretty sure I remembered what happened with Eva back then, but I checked my old emails just to be sure. Yes, I’m quite the pack rat, even in the electronic world.

+++

Eva had originally emailed me on the dating site in 2007. I guess since she was a big Spurs fan, she was interested in the fact that I was a sports editor. Living in Clear Lake didn’t hurt either.

I exchanged a few emails with her and she seemed like a really nice girl. But there was a problem.

See, at that point in 2007, I was already dating Man-Ram. And anyone that followed the blog back in those days remembers I was really into Man-Ram.

Now I’ve only dated multiple people at the same time once in my life. It was for a week in college, and I realized it was way too difficult so I picked one. That choice happened to be Prior. </slamsheadondesk>

I never want to lead people on, especially if they seem to be a genuinely nice person like Eva. So after a few emails, I told her that I was dating someone I really liked. I wanted to be honest with Eva and let her know the only reason I wasn’t going out with her was because I was seeing someone else.

She took the email quite well and said she hoped things went well with Man-Ram. She was letting her membership on the site run out, so she also gave me her regular email address in case I wanted to contact her in the future (and to congratulate her on the Spurs winning the title).

OK, so obviously looking back on the whole Man-Ram saga, not going out with Eva was mistake No. 1. I mean, I understand why I made the decision back then, but it clearly wasn’t a good one.

Now, I could have corrected that mistake when Man-Ram and I broke up a couple of months later. Instead, I rejoined the dating site and went out with several other girls, including Tiger Girl.

To be honest, I have absolutely no idea why I didn’t contact Eva. I’m not sure if I forgot since she wasn’t on the website anymore or what. So that would be mistake No. 2.

Mistake No. 3 came in December. Out of nowhere, Eva emails me just before Christmas. She said she had just found my email address again, and wanted to say Happy Holidays.

There was a problem — again. I had just started dating Tejada earlier that month. Once again, I reference the “I don’t date more than one woman at a time” rule.

I don’t have any of the other old emails saved, so I can’t remember the exact email exchange after that. But obviously I didn’t pursue anything with Eva once again, because I was dating Tejada.

</slamsheadharderondesk>

+++

So back to a few months ago…

I was pleasantly surprised to hear from Eva. I checked out her profile again, and she had a new witty bio and a lot more photos than the first time (I want to say she only had one up in 2007).

I let her know what was up with me beforehand — divorced again with a kiddo — and it didn’t faze her. She wanted to meet for lunch. Awesome!

Now Eva was very pretty in her profile pictures. In person, she was even more so. I’d compare her to a hotter Rachel Nichols (ESPN reporter). People that know me know how I’ve always had a crush on Rachel Nichols.

Lunch went great. We talked for two hours and had a lot in common. We really seemed to hit it off. Later that night, she texted me to let me know she had a good time and looked forward to seeing me again.

The next morning I woke up early and saw I had a text from Eva. We exchanged a few texts and I asked if she wanted to meet for breakfast. We met at Cracker Barrel and talked for a couple hours again.

Eva works for a major business company. That means she was away all during the week on travel. I figured this was an ideal situation.

Our work schedules would keep things casual, but I also was able to look forward to going out with her or talking/texting with her during the week.

We had a great date in early November (she even delayed a last-minute flight so we could still go out that day) and we both agreed we wanted to see each other again.

At this point, it was clear to me I probably hadn’t made a good decision in 2007. I should have gone out with her at least once, since I wasn’t even in “relationships” with Man-Ram and Tejada at those points, just to see if there was any kind of a spark. I even told her that on one of our dates.

“Well, as long as you can admit you made a mistake, I won’t hold it against you,” she said jokingly with a big smile.

That’s not saying I would have really changed anything in the past. If I didn’t go out with Tejada, then I wouldn’t have my little Boogie, and she is the true love of my life. My mistake with Tejada was succumbing to the shotgun sticking in my back and getting remarried.

However, I was looking at this as a second chance to get to know a nice and interesting woman. Again, not looking for anything serious at all, but it was nice to have someone I looked forward to talking to.

+++

Before Thanksgiving, Eva was going out of the country on vacation for two weeks. Then, when she returned, she was going to have business trips to go on for the next three weeks. So basically, I wasn’t going to get to see her again for a month.

My best friends all know that I am a worst-case scenario type person. I always prepare for the worst, so if it happens, I’m completely prepared for it. If not, then it is a pleasant surprise.

Tejada said that was a sorry way to live life. I call it planning ahead, but whatever.

So in this case, I totally started to prepare myself that we weren’t going to go out again. Hey, a month is a long time, and a lot can happen.

Well, it turns out, I was correct again to plan for the worst. We’ve hardly talked at all since she got back from her overseas vacation.

She’s got a hectic schedule, so it’s not like I expected to hear from her all the time. However, it was obvious right away that she wasn’t as interested in me as she was earlier.

The few times I have heard from her have seemingly come out of nowhere. When I was in Dallas for state football, we exchanged a few texts and she said she really wanted to see me. I’ve only heard from her once since then.

I did make an effort, but at some point, I had to take the hint. It probably took longer than it should have to throw in the towel, but I’m stubborn and have a hard time giving up too early.

So what happened here?

Since I have too much reporter ingrained in my personality, I came up with a few theories. All of them are completely understandable for why she would decide that dating me wasn’t the best idea for her.

Plus, I had my shot with her in 2007. I didn’t take advantage of that opportunity then, so it is my loss.

I was a bit bummed out, but it’s not like I was that surprised. Let’s be honest — people with resumes like mine have an uphill battle on this stuff. I just have to come to that realization due to the horrible questionable decisions I have made in my life.

+++

Since this is the official “prospect list,” here is how I would sum this experience up in baseball terms.

Eva came out of nowhere to hit .360 with eight home runs and 23 RBIs in her first month in AAA ball. Then, an injury ended that hot start and forced her to the disabled list.

I’m still hopeful Dr. James Andrews can work his magic, but I’m not at all confident.

So was this karma for me not going out with Eva in 2007? Perhaps – in which case, double finger salute to you too, karma.

Maybe this was just a case of bad timing again like it was in 2007? I could always be delusional an optimist and go with this line of thinking. In which case, maybe the third time is the charm with Eva…

I think Eva is a funny, smart and genuinely nice woman, so if she ever wants to go out again, I would certainly say yes.

For now, though, it is probably smart to get everything else in my life in order first (like finding a job) before dealing with dating stuff.

It takes a long time to rebuild a franchise properly — I don’t want to be the Baltimore Orioles and keep making the same mistakes over and over.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Tony Parker is an idiot…and apparently so was I

  1. So, no real reason why you stopped talking?? Maybe she’s just weird. I agree with you on that you should get the career path going before you try to complicate the rest of your world and start dating. I am now fianlly happy with where I am in life that I can actually like he boy, no wait, man I’m dating now. Wow, its a wonderful life……LOL, he brought me hot chocolate to the soccer game last night too!!

    Posted by Colts-Gal | January 12, 2011, 11:50 am

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

I hate summer. 😑 Always great to see my brothers! #familytree So, this was at a truck stop in Louisiana. I'm sure the tiger is thrilled with this situation. After more than 9 years, I finally earned my 200-beer plate at Flying Saucer! Rooting for a true American hero in one of our favorite sporting events of the year! #hotdogeatingcontest My wife surprised me with a House Stark #GOT shirt! #bestwifeever
