/
posts
Sports

Even more horrible NFL picks

I’ve decided that I won’t have new blog entries on Saturdays and Sundays. I’ll have a new post up and ready to go Monday morning, though.

With that said, it’s time for my horrible predictions for the NFL playoffs this weekend. I went an incredible 1-3 last week, so I’ve had to readjust my predictions from last week.

Once again, don’t take these picks to Vegas. Actually, you could go to Vegas, bet the opposite of my picks, and thank me later.

Saturday’s games

Pittsburgh 16, Baltimore 10

Quite frankly, I don’t trust Joe Flacco against a good defense in the playoffs. He’s always worth a dumb play of five each half, which should be more than enough for the Pittsburgh defense.

I actually don’t like Pittsburgh-Baltimore games as much as most people. Neither team has many likeable players, and the defensive struggles they always have gets a bit boring. Expect more of the same in this one.

Green Bay 31, Atlanta 20

The Falcons are a solid team, but to me, they don’t really seem like a No. 1 seed. If you can stop Turner, you can force Matty Ice into mistakes and beat them.

I think Green Bay goes up by double digits in the first quarter, and then unleashes its blitzing defense against Atlanta. The Falcons may make it interesting late, but I see the Packers winning in the end.

Sunday’s games

New York Jets 20, New England 17

My upset special of the weekend. I have a feeling the Jets are going to be able to back up their big talk this week.

The Patriots killed New York last time they played, but the Jets have had a chance to break down New England’s new offense for this match-up. Ultimately, New York’s ground attack will be the difference in the fourth quarter.

Chicago 27, Seattle 14

Was there any doubt what I was going to pick for this game?

Seattle looked good last week, but I don’t see how it can match that intensity for a second week in a row. Plus, playing in Soldier Field in January is a lot different from Quest Field.

I think Chicago starts slow to make people like me worried, but then Cutler gets hot in the third quarter to help the Bears pull away. I see a defensive touchdown for Chicago as well.

So with those predictions out of the way, I look forward to watching the New England-Baltimore and Atlanta-Seattle conference championship games next weekend.

Random thoughts

• I make my radio debut on Monday night for the Clash of the Causeway between No. 1 La Marque and No. 5 Ball High. I think the broadcast is going to be on H5AB.com. I will let everyone know ahead of time.

• Rick Reilly finally wrote an interesting column on ESPN.com. It was about how unlikeable Jay Cutler is.

• LeBron is a pussy. I mean, just admit you were tweeting about the Cavs, dude. It’s OK — we all thought it was funny. No need to get PC now.

• “The Other Guys” — lot of potential, but fell flat on its face. Only had a couple of funny moments. Very disappointing, much like “Semi-Pro.”

• Apparently I am a Capricorn now. Not sure what this means, and I really don’t care.

• Seriously, Foundation for a Better Life, why have you flooded sports channels with your ads? I get it — be nice to others, love your family, blah, blah, blah. Now please go advertise on Lifetime or something. Kthxbye.

• I’m going to be bold and say that five years from now, Cam Newton will be considered the best quarterback from the 2011 draft class.

• In preparation for any job interviews in the near future, it has become obvious I need to update my wardrobe.

Most of my suits are in bad shape or don’t fit anymore, save for my “draft night” seven-button suit. Yeah, that’s right, seven buttons. I’ve been told I look like M.C. Hammer with it on.

Normally I’d rely on my fashion expert Steph, but obviously that is not possible this time with her living in Nashville. Luckily, Jenny D has been kind enough to help me out this weekend.

I haven’t had to wear a suit since college, so this should be fun. I’ll provide updates on the shopping trip on Monday.

 

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Even more horrible NFL picks

  1. Points:
    1) Please, please, PLEASE talk to me before you go and buy a suit. I will advise you wear to go and what will look best on you. Please let me help you. Taking a woman shopping sounds like a good idea, but here’s what I’ll say. Women don’t wear men’s clothes. They don’t read men’s fashion magazines. So what you end up with is often that women’s open of what “looks hot”. If I left it up to my wife’s opinions, my jeans would make me look like a deuche from the Jersey Shore. She thinks rinestone designs with crosses are hot. Good grief.
    2) I predict you for 2/4 on those predictions.
    3) You seriously didn’t like Semi-Pro???? That movie is hilarious: “I know you had sex with Mrs. Pepperfield {pulls trigger on empty gun}” “We’re saying things that are funny cause they’re not true!”
    4) Related to point 1) – Burn that seven button suit. Know, please, listen to me. Burn it so you’ll never be tempted to wear it again.

    Posted by southernmaninindy | January 14, 2011, 8:28 am
  2. Josh, I don’t know who to hate more for the Jets/Pats game. I think I will be drunk during that game so I don’t have to think about watching it.

    Take the female with you shopping, just make sure she doesn’t pick out the red heels to go with the suit. I am sure she will do fine. Just not pink, and I wear size 10 in red heels!

    Let me know what channel the Clash will be on. If you need a female voice too, I’m available on Monday. The boy toy is in Cancun. 😦

    Posted by Colts-Gal | January 14, 2011, 9:43 am
  3. I kind of feel like I talked you into picking the Jets. The key as you mentioned is the Jets run game keeping Brady and company off the field.

    Very disappointed in this latest LeBron bs as well. If you are going to embrace your inner “villain” then do it full bore. Be honest. Tell Dan Gilbert to go “f” himself.

    As per the “Karma” tweet, remember, since LeBron posted that, the Heat have lost two in a row and he hurt his ankle.

    Indeed, karma is a b****.

    Posted by Eric SanInocencio | January 14, 2011, 12:40 pm
    • I think you did talk me into the Jets. haha.

      Kobe embraced his inner villain and look how successful he is. I felt like Tiger should have done the same.

      It’s like LeBron has two groups of friends that are each trying to push him in different directions. No one likes him anymore, though, so he has to go villain at this point.

      And as I’ve posted the past two weeks, karma is indeed a b****

      Posted by Joshua Buckley | January 15, 2011, 1:25 am
  4. No lie, my heart skipped a beat when a read you were going clothes shopping. And not the good skipped a beat, the bad one. I dont know who Jenny D. is, but God bless her. It’s going to be hard to find a suit to fit all that hotness. 🙂

    Posted by Stephanie Newton | January 18, 2011, 1:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Cubs World Series picture and Red Robin. My girls know how to treat me on Father's Day. The sound quality wasn't too great at NRG last night, but the Metallica show was still amazing. Seeing them play so many songs from one of the best albums ever - The Black Album - was something I've always wanted to do. #bucketlist Ready for Metallica! Not gonna lie... I want this suit! Whelp, let's try this... #stopsnoring Linsey Alexander with a surprise cameo on the Blues guitar.
