/
posts
Life

Obsession, thy name is Muno

My little Boogie is obsessed.

I knew I was getting her a good Christmas present when I bought these five “Yo Gabba Gabba” figures for her.

What I didn’t realize was how obsessed she would be about them.

Over the past few months, Boogie has shown that she likes to carry around little people. She’s a lot like me in that she has to have something in her hand when she is playing or just sitting and watching TV.

Anyone that has ever seen me talk on the phone or sit around knows what I am talking about. I usually had a baseball or a bat at work that I would fiddle with while on the phone or brainstorming.

So knowing how much she loves little people, and how much she loves YGG, I decided to buy her the figures. They were ridiculously priced at $40 for the set, but I bit the bullet on them. That was a good choice.

While she is at my apartment, she has to be holding at least two of the figures at all times. Sometimes, she carries all five around at once, which is quite impressive to watch.

She plays with them while she eats, takes them into the tub, holds them when she goes to bed and especially likes to have all five in her lap when she watches YGG. You can even tell in the aquarium photos from the other day that she held Plex and Foofa in her hands the entire time — well, except when she dropped Plex in the stingray petting tank, which I then had to retrieve.

Today, she put them all in a bucket when she knew we were leaving the apartment, that way she could take all of them in the car.

Now there are downsides to this obsession.

Since I spent so much on them, I don’t want them going to Tejada’s house. That means, when we arrive there, I have to find a way to get them out of Boogie’s hands. That can be a challenge at times, and usually she is not happy.

Monday she was upset when she couldn’t find Brobee (the little green one). We turned it into a fun game though, as we walked around the apartment calling for Brobee’s name until we found him. She laughed.

The biggest downside actually occurred while we were leaving the aquarium. As I was about to pull out of the parking lot, Boogie started to cry because she dropped Plex. I turned around to pick him up for her.

CRASH!

Oh crap. I didn’t realize I had put the car in reverse already and totally backed into a jeep. The jeep was unharmed, but the back bumper on my new car took some damage. Even worse, the truck alignment got thrown off a bit, so now I have to slam it shut.

Sigh….

Oh well. Just another case of bad luck.

Boogie smiled though because she had Plex back in her hand for the ride home. I guess her being happy is all the really mattered in the end.

I’ll have to ask my mom if I was obsessed with anything like her YGG figures when I was growing up. What was something you were obsessed with as a child?

Random thoughts

• Nothing new on the job front. Hopefully that changes at some point this week.

• I thought my first radio/internet broadcast with Charles McCullough went pretty well tonight. It was a fast-paced basketball game, so we had to make sure we weren’t stepping on each other’s toes at times. I felt like I was able to add to the broadcast, though, since I know the teams so well.

It was fun, and I look forward to doing it again. Next game is scheduled for Friday night.

• Awesome scene for the Ball High-La Marque basketball game tonight. I have never seen an atmosphere like that for a regular season basketball game. The 2,500-seat gym was standing room only. Sounds like Round 2 may be played at the University of Houston next month.

Ball won 81-76. Clearly the Tors were the top-ranked team in the state on Monday.

• Met the new sports guy for the GCDN on Monday. Told him I’d help him out with whatever he needed. My only request — Astros and Texans season passes. He said he’d hook my up. That’s what I call a fair exchange!

The Cubs traded Tom Gorzelanny to the Nationals for three prospects. Not sure I like not having a single lefty in the rotation this year, but there’s not really much that can be done at this point I guess.

• Nearly everyone is picking the Packers to roll the Bears on Sunday. I like that. It certainly worked in the Jets’ favor against New England last week.

• And finally, in case you missed it, great story about former Jet Dennis Byrd who delivered the team a motivational speech 18 years after being paralyzed on the field: Byrd inspired Jets in Foxborough

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Obsession, thy name is Muno

  1. I think the Bears D is slightly better than the Falcons. I like the Bears odds in that game.

    Posted by southernmaninindy | January 18, 2011, 8:25 am
  2. Brynn loves some Yo Gabba Gabba, but her favorite is Mickey Mouse Clubhouse. We have all of the characters for it and Super Why. My favorite YGG episode is definitely the Jack Black one. He is great, especially when he gets his own DJ outfit!

    I read an article on the basketball game. It sounded great with tons of big-time athletes involved. Are you sure that atmosphere beats our old days of Fairview vs. Holly Pond? JK!!!!

    Go Pack!!

    Posted by Matt Perdue | January 18, 2011, 7:24 pm
    • The Jack Black one is great. I also enjoy the circus one with Weird Al as the Ringmaster.

      Hey, Fairview vs. Holly Pond was no joke. Haha. Yeah, they’d be lucky to lose by less than 50 to Ball High or La Marque.

      Posted by Joshua Buckley | January 18, 2011, 7:30 pm
  3. Josh, I guess I’m he only one that will take the comment “have to have something in my hands” and make it perverted! I think that is why you like me. LOL

    I was obsessed with “little people. This went well into junior high. My best friend at the time and I would get into fights over who got the good couch. Wow, I miss those simple days…

    Posted by Colts-Gal | January 20, 2011, 7:54 am

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Cubs World Series picture and Red Robin. My girls know how to treat me on Father's Day. The sound quality wasn't too great at NRG last night, but the Metallica show was still amazing. Seeing them play so many songs from one of the best albums ever - The Black Album - was something I've always wanted to do. #bucketlist Ready for Metallica! Not gonna lie... I want this suit! Whelp, let's try this... #stopsnoring Linsey Alexander with a surprise cameo on the Blues guitar.
