/
posts
Archives

Archives: So I cock blocked a homeless guy

Not much going on today, therefore I decided to make another visit to the old blog archives.

This story is from Oct. 2007 when I was still working at the Galveston office.

I wasn’t dating anyone at the time (once again, why didn’t I go out with Eva Longoria? I’m an idiot.), so Corey and I usually tried to pick a couple of nights a week to head to the bar for some beers.

On this night, we decided to head to a new bar on the island with our favorite Limey, Ian, as well as young “Skippy,” a copy editor.

Like before, I will throw in a few editor’s notes along the way.

+++

So I cock blocked a homeless guy

With a title like that, this has to be an interesting story…

So Wednesday night, Corey, Ian, Shawn and I decided we would check out a bar we heard about last week on the Seawall in Galveston called “Float”. It’s a younger bar with a pool outside — plus they offered $.50 draft beer on Wednesday nights.

<EN: Cheap yes, but it wasn’t like it was good sized. They were in small clear plastic cups.>

Corey and I were done before Ian and Shawn, so we left for the bar around 11 p.m. We loaded up on cheap Dos Equis and found a place to stand on the porch outside. It was mostly college students, but we still found a couple of guys to talk to.

<EN: Looking back on it, we probably seemed out of place, especially when Limey showed up wearing a suit.>

We had been there about 45 minutes, when this man who I assume was homeless (call it an educated guess) found his way into the bar. The bartenders had been dumping off the empty kegs in the swimming pool, so they were floating around.

The homeless guy came up to us and asked, “Do you think there is any beer left in those kegs?” Corey stupidly told him no. If he had asked me, I probably would have said yes just to watch him jump into the pool to try and get beer out of an empty keg.

The guy then proceeds to roam around the porch, dumping any leftover beer people had left in the railing into his cup. Ick!

Then homeless guy decides he’s going to turn on his charm with the ladies. He sits down in a chair near a couple of college girls and starts staring creepily at them. The poor girls were trying to ignore them, but he kept saying stuff to them.

Corey and I were watching this and trying to figure out what or if we should do anything about this situation. Corey headed off to the restroom to ponder the options.

<EN: Corey was pondering the options, because he was convinced I would do nothing about the situation.>

While he was gone, homeless guy gets up from the chair and gets into one of the girl’s face. I couldn’t hear exactly what he was saying, but I did hear the word “beautiful” followed by a creepy laugh and smile.

At this point, I decided action was in order. I hopped off the rail, sat in the chair where homeless guy had been sitting and started talking to the girl.

Those of you who know me best, know this isn’t a typical move for me. After all, I have no game. In fact, if you judged my game on a scale of 1-10, I would score a negative-2. But it was painful watching homeless guy hitting on this poor girl, so I did what I felt I had to do.

He mercifully left about a minute later and the girl thanked me. Some of her friends came over and she introduced me to them as “her knight in shining armor.”

<EN: Corey was absolutely stunned when he came back from the bathroom and saw I had actually done something.>

I asked her a couple of questions — found out she was a student at Texas A&M Galveston — but I could easily tell that she wasn’t interested in me. That’s OK. I mostly made my move just to rescue her from the creep.

She left a few minutes later and thanked me again for saving her. Well, at least know I know that I have more game than a homeless guy!

+++

Come on, I should have at least gotten a phone number out of this situation! Oh well, at least I was a gentleman and did the right thing.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Archives: So I cock blocked a homeless guy

  1. Took me a second to remember that story. I think if it had been later (and drunker) in the night, you probably could have earned at least a makeout session from your efforts. The things we learn in life.

    Posted by southernmaninindy | January 19, 2011, 7:15 am

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

I hate summer. 😑 Always great to see my brothers! #familytree So, this was at a truck stop in Louisiana. I'm sure the tiger is thrilled with this situation. After more than 9 years, I finally earned my 200-beer plate at Flying Saucer! Rooting for a true American hero in one of our favorite sporting events of the year! #hotdogeatingcontest My wife surprised me with a House Stark #GOT shirt! #bestwifeever
