/
posts
Life

If necessary, I’ll punch a three-year-old

I continued to be reminded that I hate kids. I really do.

I’m not talking about my kid. I love her more than anything.

However, I can’t stand about 98.9-percent of the other kids out in the world.

Tuesday I took Boogie to the mall to play at the indoor playground they have. She has a blast there and can usually play for an hour.

I spend most of the time walking around near here, making sure she doesn’t take a fall or something like that. While watching her, I see a lot of little gremlins that push her out of the way.

Look, I know kids are kids. They don’t know any better. However, parenting should come in at some point to make sure your kid isn’t a monster.

Boogie pushed one kid at the playground on Tuesday. I immediately went over to her, made her look at me, and told her that she shouldn’t push. Now it’s doubtful she really understands what I am saying, but if I continue to do that when she pushes someone, she will get the idea.

The brats pushing my kid were already irritating me. However, one little monster caused me to get quite upset.

Boogie was trying to go up the steps to the main part of the playground. On her way to the steps, he pushed her three times. Grr….

Then she gets to the top and starts going down the steps on the other side. When she is nearly at the bottom, the little monster shows back up — and immediately grabs her ponytail and starts to pull.

So I did the only thing I could do. I yelled at the brat.

“Hey,” I said with a stern voice that caused him to look up. “LEAVE HER ALONE!”

It caused him to run off. Boogie is a tough kid, so I don’t think she hardly even noticed. I wasn’t about to let some kid pull my little girl’s hair though.

I would have said something to the kid’s parent(s) but I never saw them. He was just running around with no supervision until I had finally tired of the insanity and taken Boogie out of the playground.

Obviously, it probably wasn’t the best idea to yell at some kid that isn’t mine. But if any little fuckers mess with my daughter, I’m not going to be nice.

I can already tell Boogie is going to hate me when she starts dating.

Mad ramblings

• My friend Kevin (Twitter @WarFX) finds the strangest things online. Like this video.

Mel Kiper’s look back at the 2005 NFL Draft makes you realize how shitty the talent was that year. Matt Cassel No. 7? Kyle Orton No. 23? Mike Williams No. 29? Wow…just…wow.

• Monday it was 79 and I had the air on inside. Tuesday night it was 24. That’s Houston in the winter for you, though people should really see what’s happening up north before complaining.

My only complaint was that I forgot to turn my heat on before Tuesday night. It was quite chilly inside when I got home.

• I’m working for the Houston Chronicle for Signing Day on Wednesday. I’m going to be the database bitch. I owe Jenny, so I volunteered to help. They are going to pay me something, though I’m not even sure on the price.

This now makes it four papers (Chronicle, GCDN, Katy Times, Fort Bend Herald) a website (H5AB.com) and the radio that I am working now. Hey, at least I’m not sitting around just collecting unemployment.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

 

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “If necessary, I’ll punch a three-year-old

  1. Look I don’t think anyone would fault you for kicking a kid’s ass . . . oh wait, they would? Nevermind.

    How dare you disparage neck-beard. He got your team to a Super Bowl one year! (I still credit him holding the fort down and not sexy rexy).

    Posted by southernmaninindy | February 2, 2011, 8:29 am
  2. I tried to rate this 5 stars, but I’m not sure it worked. I hate that she’s looking at 13 years of school with those little playground brats. They make life miserable for the rest of us.

    Posted by David Clemons | February 3, 2011, 8:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Great scene at Concord Bridge - free BBQ and supply dropoff for a neighborhood flooded during the storm. #HoustonStrong #RollTide Proof that we have been surviving the storm. #Harvey #BeerMe Mandatory #Houston sunshine photo. Great to see after the past four days. This is the retention pond behind our neighborhood which is protecting our homes from being flooded. Earlier this week it was empty. Now there is more than 10-feet of water in it. It actually went down a bit this afternoon when we got a slight break from the rain. It can still hold another 12 or so feet before it goes over its bank. Hopefully it can hang in there the next few days. That moment when you realize #Harvey could prevent you from watching the #GOT finale.
