/
posts
Archives, Sports

Archives: I knew those pecs weren’t natural

Spring training is under way, so I figured this would be a good time to head back to the archives.

I posted this blog in Dec. 2007, shortly after the Mitchell Report was released. However, the story itself is from the summer of 2006, shortly after I arrived in Texas.

Normally I have a few editor’s notes along the way, but this post pretty much speaks for itself.

+++

I knew those pecs weren’t natural!

Many people seemed stunned that Roger Clemens was one of the main alleged steroid users named in the Mitchell Report that was released on Thursday afternoon.

Not this guy.

In fact, when I met with my Managing Editor the day before to discuss how to approach the release of the report, I told him I absolutely expected Clemens to be among the players named. Now, I didn’t expect there to be as much evidence on Clemens that there turned out to be in the report. But I wasn’t surprised at all that he was the biggest name uncovered from the 20-month long investigation.

How was I so certain that Clemens had in fact been on performance enhancing drugs? Well his longevity and dominance at an age when most players are retired should have been big signs. But for me, I saw all the proof I needed in a post game interview in 2006.

When Clemens first returned to the Astros in June, he was brought into the media interview room after games. But as the season wore on, we reporters would just gather around his locker after the game to get our interviews.

I covered one of Clemens’ starts and was one of about 10 reporters gathered around his locker following the game. I was on Clemens’ right side, while there was a TV camera on his left side, pointing at both him and I.

“I saw you on TV last night in Clemens post game interview,” Melissa said to me at work the next day.

“Yeah, that’s not surprising. I was at the front of the pack and the camera was pointing in that direction.”

“It looked like you were staring at something, though,” she said. “It was weird. What were looking at?”

I laughed, because I knew immediately what she was talking about.

“I’ll be completely honest,” I admitted. “I was staring at Clemens’ pecs.”

No, I’m not gay. I was NOT staring at Clemens’ chest with any sexual thoughts. However, standing that close to Clemens, I was absolutely stunned at the muscle tone this 44-year-old man had in his pectorals. It looked like the guy could break cinder blocks on his chest.

I was absolutely convinced at from that moment on that Clemens was on some form of juice. There was absolutely NO WAY that he wasn’t. That chest just wasn’t natural.

I didn’t need the Mitchell Report to tell me that Clemens has been cheating for years. The Rocket’s pecs told me his dirty secret.

+++

Now before everyone starts thinking this could be the reason that I am twice divorced, I would like to remind everyone that I am dating a really hot Asian girl.

Anyway, I think it has become pretty clear since the Mitchell Report that Clemens is a dirty cheater, no matter how much he denies it. Maybe people would have been more willing to believe you, Rocket, if you weren’t a complete dick. Just sayin’.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Archives: I knew those pecs weren’t natural

  1. You know how I know you’re gay?

    Posted by southernmaninindy | February 18, 2011, 8:12 am
  2. Josh, you weren’t the only one who knew he was on the juice. I was one of the first to suspect Soda and McGuire, back during their homerun battle. I was criticized by EVERYONE when I would mention that I thought both of them were juicing, along with Barry Bonds. No one believed me. I work in the profession (as you know) whefe i have seen many kids on the stuff. NO, I did not pass it out, but I saw the effects of the drugs. I was required to monitor an athlete (blood pressure and whatnot) because we knew he was juicing but couldnt test him. The next year he was busted by the NCAA.? In the end, I guess I got the last laugh!

    Posted by Colts-Gal | February 18, 2011, 9:00 am

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Cubs World Series picture and Red Robin. My girls know how to treat me on Father's Day. The sound quality wasn't too great at NRG last night, but the Metallica show was still amazing. Seeing them play so many songs from one of the best albums ever - The Black Album - was something I've always wanted to do. #bucketlist Ready for Metallica! Not gonna lie... I want this suit! Whelp, let's try this... #stopsnoring Linsey Alexander with a surprise cameo on the Blues guitar.
