/
posts
Life

A trio of answers

Over the past month, people ask me three questions in the same order.

How is Boogie?

Any luck with the job search?

How are things with Yeh-Peu-Dah going?

I could give short answers for those questions, but that wouldn’t make for a very interesting blog. So here are the current answers to those three questions.

How is Boogie?

Boogie turns 2 next Thursday. I can’t believe how fast the time has gone by.

It seems like just yesterday I was holding her in my arms at the hospital. Now, she’s running around like crazy, learning words and picking out books for me to read her at night.

I get to see her about four or five days a week, which is fairly good considering the circumstances.

We have a lot of fun together when I do have her. We will sit at home and watch movies, go to the mall and play at the playground or go walking around the pond at my apartment in her little car.

I was at Toys R’ Us on Thursday looking for a good birthday gift for her, other than the Yo Gabba Gabba stuff I have already ordered. Finally, I found the perfect gift — a Little Tikes basketball goal.

She actually loves playing with footballs and basketballs, so I think she is going to love it. Besides, it is never too early to start working on her outside jump shot.

Being a dad is still a crazy experience, but it’s quite a fun and wild ride.

Any luck with the job search?

Well, nothing new to report here. Never got a call back from CenterPoint Energy, which sucked. No other calls from anyone.

It’s starting to get a little frustrating, mostly because there aren’t a lot of new jobs opening up. I’m not getting down about it, though.

In the meantime, I’m now up to stringing for five papers and a website, along with radio. I was able to double up on Tuesday, doing radio and then writing a story on the game for the Houston Chronicle. That equaled about $50 an hour for three hours.

Show me the money!

I’m still hoping to do radio and maybe some writing when I do get a regular job. I am anxious to get a full-time job, though.

How are things with Yeh-Peu-Dah going?

I’ll to admit, when Yeh-Peu-Dah and I went on an “official” date a little over a month ago, I wouldn’t have guessed things would be going this well.

Maybe that is why things are going so well. Neither of us went into this with any expectations. What we’ve discovered over the past month, though, is how good our personalities seem to fit together.

I determined after the Tejada experience that if I was going to be in another relationship, I needed someone that wasn’t needy or high maintenance, and was willing to accept me for me. She is all of those.

She’s told me that I am a good fit for her, because of the way I treat her and how we can talk for hours upon hours about anything and everything.

In the past, there have been red flags that have developed after a month that I usually ignored.

With Prior, it was a temper that popped up on a fairly regular basis.

With Man-Ram, it was her declaration that she didn’t believe in monogamy.

With Tejada, it was little stuff like getting mad because I didn’t want to wait while she got a hair cut, or wanting to always go out to eat and expecting me to pay every time. Tejada also was trying to change stuff about me early on, like my wardrobe and my work schedule.

Thus far, I haven’t seen any of those red flags with Yeh-Peu-Dah, and it isn’t because I am just ignoring them.

We haven’t had a single disagreement about anything in a month. She likes my nerdy side, is understanding about my job schedule (even though it is part time work) and would rather go on a picnic or sit home and watch a movie then go to some fancy restaurant.

Most importantly, Yeh-Peu-Dah considers me a good father and likes that Boogie is my No. 1 priority. In fact, I think if Boogie didn’t come first in my life, she wouldn’t want to date me. That type of understanding is probably the most important factor in being involved with her.

I don’t think either of us knows what is going to come of this. However, we know that we have great chemistry, have a lot of fun when we are together, and make each other happy. That’s certainly a great foundation to potentially build on.

+++

Last weekend, Yeh-Peu-Dah had a picnic at Discovery Green, a small park in downtown Houston. We had some fun with the camera on our date.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mad ramblings

• Still not watching college basketball, but I have really gotten into watching the NBA in recent weeks. More specifically, I’ve enjoyed watching my Chicago Bulls.

I can’t remember the last time I watched a whole NBA regular season game on TV. In the past week, I’ve watched two — Bulls vs. Spurs and Bulls vs. Heat.

The Bulls are fun to watch, mainly because of Derrick Rose and Joakim Noah. I still can’t include Carlos Boozer on that list because he did screw over a blind guy once.

I think I’ll be pretty pumped come playoff time this year.

• Chris Bosh is horrible. I’m so glad the Bulls signed Boozer instead of him this summer.

• Wild NBA trade deadline this year. I found it funny how Houston fans are really clueless on how the business goes. The Rockets are going nowhere, so they traded Shane Battier and Aaron Brooks away. In return, they got former No. 2 pick Hasheem Thabeet, Goran Dragic and a first round pick.

I like Dragic, but who knows if Thabeet is every going to be serviceable. Still, Rockets fans shouldn’t be moaning and groaning that their team traded away a couple of players from an 11th place team. Give me a break.

• Adam Wainwright is out for the year for St. Louis. Excuse me while I wipe away the tears…

• The new season of Survivor continues to be addictive. Russell drama and a huge blindside in just the second tribal council of the season.

• I managed to get presale tickets for the Airborne Toxic Event show in Austin in May. At only $16 a pop, it was quite a deal. They continue to release tracks from the new album, and I think it could actually end up being better than the first one.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

I hate summer. 😑 Always great to see my brothers! #familytree So, this was at a truck stop in Louisiana. I'm sure the tiger is thrilled with this situation. After more than 9 years, I finally earned my 200-beer plate at Flying Saucer! Rooting for a true American hero in one of our favorite sporting events of the year! #hotdogeatingcontest My wife surprised me with a House Stark #GOT shirt! #bestwifeever
