/
posts
Life

Tapping my inner “Ensign”

I’ll admit it — I’m a nerd.

Yes, I got the AKL nickname “Ensign” because I wore a Star Trek shirt to the caf one day.

Yes, I own the extended DVD versions of all three Lord of the Rings movies.

Yes, I use to play the Star Wars Customizable Card Game.

And yes, I went to Star Trek 30th anniversary convention in Huntsville when I was in the ninth grade (but in my defense, that was the only convention I ever went to).

I am probably the only sports writer in the history of sports writing to ever made the above statements. That’s OK, though, because I’ve always been comfortable knowing that I do indeed have a nerdy side.

So it should be no surprise that even at age 30, I’ve been reminded the past month that I am still very much a nerd.

+++

Every time I go to Wal-Mart, I can’t help but go through the electronics section to browse. I am a suck for rummaging through the $5 DVD bin to see if there is anything good.

Last month I was actually looking for a DVD to get Boogie, when I stumbled upon something grand.

Season 4 of Farscape for $20.

Wow, that’s a pretty good price for that. Too bad they only had Season 4.

Then I looked some more. They also had Seasons 1, 2 and 3 for $15 a piece.

Happy Birthday to me!

Now for those that don’t know, Farscape is my favorite show of all time. Yes, I love it even more than MacGyver.

The show started on the SciFi channel in 1999, but I didn’t start watching until near the end of Season 1. It was an absolutely incredible show.

Anytime you combine a SciFi show and Jim Henson’s Creature Shop, you are going to end up with an concept. It turned out to be very entertaining.

In the second season, the show transitioned from being a “new adventure every week” series like Star Trek, and becoming what was eventually dubbed a “Space Opera.” Essentially a soap opera for nerds like myself.

Now I’m sure most of you reading this are probably thinking this sounds like the worst show ever. Far from it, though.

The people that I have talked to that have seen the show all agree it was phenomenal. One of them is Jenny and Yeh-Peu-Dah’s friend Cat, who I had a discussion with on Thanksgiving about it. We both agreed Farscape was the best SciFi show ever produced.

The story telling was top notch, and the acting was brilliant. It was a show that you could never predict what would happen, to the point of main characters being killed out of nowhere.

Basically, it was Lost before there was Lost.

How much did I like the show? Well, I actually patterned my hair style after the main character, John Crichton. I also said if I ever had a son, I wanted to name him Robert Crichton Buckley.

I still think Crichton is the coolest name.

Of course, as it happens with all TV shows, they eventually come to an end. Farscape’s ending was pretty controversial, though.

Originally the show was set to run five seasons. However, on the final day of Season 4, the SciFi channel let the producers know the show was being cancelled. They blamed rising costs with no increase in viewership for the cancellation.

The news of the cancellation came before the new season began airing, and there was immediately a fan campaign to try and save it. I remember reading stories about how the SciFi channel was being pelted with thousands of letters from fans upset about the decision.

KFC actually jumped into the campaign, offering to become an exclusive sponsor for the show’s fifth season. In a show of support, all Farscape fans were asked to eat KFC on Friday nights and send in the receipts to the SciFi channel.

Prior (who hated SciFi but loved Farscape) and I would eat our KFC while watching the show every Friday night and then send in our receipts.

It didn’t appear the campaign was successful, and to make matters worse, the season ended on a cliffhanger. It was torture.

The Farscape producers tried to negotiate with the SciFi channel for an 11-episode season in order to wrap up the season. Instead, all they were given was a four-hour miniseries. Better than nothing I guess.

Since the airing of the miniseries, I have boycotted the SciFi channel. I could never forgive it for cancelling my favorite show before its time was up.

As is the case with anything you used to watch when you were younger, I wondered if I would still like Farscape when I started watching it again. Would I find out it was actually cheesy, and shake my head for ever watching it?

The answer is no. It’s actually better than I even remembered.

I remember Season 1 being a little slow as it focused on introducing the characters before working on the meat of the story. I found the first seven episodes to be quite entertaining, though. It’s made me totally remember why I loved that show.

Each season has 22 episodes, so it is going to take me a while to watch them all. Still, for $65, it was definitely a great purchase!

+++

Surprisingly, this isn’t the only thing I’ve been nerdy about recently. I also started playing the video game series “Mass Effect” on XBOX 360.

Everything I read at the end of the year said Mass Effect 2 was the best game of 2010. I decided I was going to give it a try, but I had to rent the first game in the trilogy through GameFly first.

Mass Effect was an in-depth SciFi RPG game. At times, it felt more like you were controlling a movie than playing a game.

It took my about 26 hours to get through the game. It was an awesome story and easily one of the top 5 non-sports games I have ever played.

I just got Mass Effect 2 through GameFly, and already I’m hooked. The story actually goes along with choices you made from the first game. That definitely makes it a unique experience.

Sometime tells me this is going to take me even longer to play through than the first Mass Effect. Combined with the Farscape DVDs, maybe it’s a good thing I am unemployed…

Non-nerdy mad ramblings

• It’s about time Christian Bale won an Oscar, though I still say his role in “The Machinist” was his best.

• I’m not going to lie, I’d being willing to take the “Charlie Sheen drug” for a weekend, just to see what it was like. Of course, I don’t think the FDA would approve it with a warning like, “It’s not available because if you try it once, you will die. Your face will melt off, and your children will weep over your exploded body.”

For those interested, I fully indeed on creating the “Joshua Buckley drug.” Side effects include loss of vision, snoring and inability to drive in the rain. Also makes you irresistible to mentally unstable women (and occasionally normal people like Yeh-Peu-Dah).

Ask your doctor about it in the coming months!

• Speaking of Christian Bale and Charlie Sheen… NSFW

• Finally watched a whole college hoops game Sunday — Pittsburgh vs. Louisville. I still feel comfortable picking Pittsburgh to go deep in the tourney, even though it lost in OT on the road.

• Twitter has definitely helped the NFL Draft Combine get out of control. When are GMs and fans going to learn to not fall in love with Workout Warriors?

• Unemployment has now hit the two-month mark. Maybe if I took some “Charlie Sheen” it would help in the job search. Uh…maybe not.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Tapping my inner “Ensign”

  1. Ok, seriously, how did we ever become friends!?! I am way cooler than you! LMAO. Glad to see things are still going well with the girl. I’m still trying to deal…..

    Did you see that I got to see Brody on Friday. That was awesome. I can’t wait til the spring football game. I hope you’re able to go. Thinking of getting a hotel room so I can enjoy George’s after the game. Would you want to do that?? Double beds of course. I don’t want your girl to beat me up, and my boy to shoot you (he has lots of guns!!) . Let me know. You can do an article on Brody and Ivory too!!

    Posted by Colts-Gal | March 1, 2011, 12:55 pm
  2. I think you might be able to find some “Charlie Sheen” when you head to Vegas. Keep you eyes open for it.

    Posted by southernmaninindy | March 1, 2011, 1:18 pm
  3. Julio Jones is a workout warrior and would immediately be the No. 1 receiver on your beloved Bears! I just hope he goes to the Rams, so he and Sam Bradford can be the next Manning/Harrison for years to come!!!

    Posted by Matt Perdue | March 1, 2011, 5:47 pm
    • I disagree that Julio is a workout warrior. Dude was a great player at Bama and already had a reputation as a tough SOB and a good blocker. I wish the Bears could get him, but no way the Rams would pass on him.
      When I say workout warrior, I mean the guys that didn’t do crap in college, but move up draft boards cause they run faster. I’m looking at you Jake Locker…

      Posted by Joshua Buckley | March 1, 2011, 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Cubs World Series picture and Red Robin. My girls know how to treat me on Father's Day. The sound quality wasn't too great at NRG last night, but the Metallica show was still amazing. Seeing them play so many songs from one of the best albums ever - The Black Album - was something I've always wanted to do. #bucketlist Ready for Metallica! Not gonna lie... I want this suit! Whelp, let's try this... #stopsnoring Linsey Alexander with a surprise cameo on the Blues guitar.
