/
posts
Life

Yeh-Peu-Dah, meet Boogie

Yeh-Peu-Dah and I reached a big milestone in our relationship on Sunday.

She met Boogie.

This was a big deal to both of us, and something we had talked about for a few weeks. We decided we were going to wait until it seemed like the time was right for both of us.

Originally we hadn’t planned on Sunday being that day, but due to unusual circumstances, that’s what happened. And honestly, it turned out to be a perfect time.

+++

A month ago, Yeh-Peu-Dah asked that if we were still dating, I accompany her to her church on Easter Sunday. I of course said yes.

Most know that I don’t attend church regularly. That’s not to say I don’t believe in God. I’ve just witnessed a lot of hypocritical behavior from regular churchgoers.

To me, I feel like it is more important that I live my life with high morals and values. That means a lot more than going to church every Sunday, only to act completely different during your every day life.

That said, I’ve always considered it an honor to be invited by a friend to go to church. Faith is important to a lot of my friends, and I find it interesting and strengthening to a friendship to see first hand why they are so passionate about it.

Faith is also a big part of Yeh-Peu-Dah’s life, so I was excited to go with her on Easter.

+++

A couple of weeks ago, Tejada informed me she was going to Dallas to she her best friend who was having a baby. I was excited to have Boogie a whole weekend.

She decided to make the trip on Easter weekend, which was no problem. I knew I could just drop Boogie off at her grandma’s for a few hours to go to church, then come back to get her.

I told Tejada numerous times (and I stress the word numerous) that I was going to drop Boogie off around 10 on Sunday, then be back to get her at noon. The answer was always, “OK, that’s fine.”

I told Tejada’s mom the same thing, again numerous times. No objection was made.

Wednesday when I was picking up Boogie, I told Tejada’s mom again that I would be dropping her at 10 a.m. on Sunday. Then, on Thursday morning, I got a call from Tejada.

“Why are you dropping (Boogie) off on Sunday?”

Really? Really?

Apparently, Tejada’s mom was making an Easter dinner for the family, and therefore told Tejada it was going to be an issue to be there in the morning. Why this was never brought up in the NUMEROUS times I have brought this up is beyond me.

What really irritated me, however, was Tejada claiming I never told about this and said I was making it up that I did.

ARE. YOU. KIDDING. ME.

This, of course, was followed by Tejada giving me the guilt trip with, “You care more about going to church with your girlfriend then taking care of your daughter.” Nevermind the fact she was going out of town for the weekend with her boyfriend and didn’t intend to get back until after 6 p.m. on Easter, but whatever.

+++

I broke the news to Yeh-Peu-Dah on Thursday night that I no longer had someone to watch Boogie Sunday morning. She was disappointed, but as always, took it better than probably most women.

Then she came up with an option.

“You could bring (Boogie) to church with us on Sunday.”

This was something I hadn’t even considered.

Was it the right time? After three months, I definitely feel comfortable enough in Yeh-Peu-Dah and my relationship to know Boogie isn’t going to be exposed to someone who won’t be around in a few weeks. That was extremely important.

So, after discussing it further, we decided there was no better time than Easter Sunday to have Yeh-Peu-Dah meet Boogie.

+++

Everything went great on Sunday. Yeh-Peu-Dah met Boogie and I in the playground outside the church. We dropped her off in the day care (a very nice set-up) and went to the service.

Yeh-Peu-Dah’s church is big, but it was an enjoyable service. It had a full-blown band and a good message from the pastor.

Afterwards, we picked up Boogie and decided to go to the park.

One of these days, I will learn the park is going to be busy on holidays. Because it was packed, Yeh-Peu-Dah and her sister had to park a ways away. Eventually we met up at the park, had a quick lunch and then watched Boogie play on the playground for a while.

Boogie liked Yeh-Peu-Dah, and even wanted to hold her hand walking back to the car.

Later that night, Yeh-Peu-Dah and I talked about everything. Since it all went well, I’m sure we will do something in the future.

We will probably wait a few weeks though. I hope Yeh-Peu-Dah is around for a while, so there is no rush in such an important situation like this.

Egg hunt for the family, minus one

As I mentioned earlier, Tejada was gone for most of Easter, because she stayed in Dallas until the early afternoon. That brought plenty of interesting comments from her family during and after lunch.

Throughout this whole situation, her family has been nice to me. When I was there on Easter, and Tejada was not, I think they all thought that was very telling.

Tejada demanded I not have an Easter egg hunt with Boogie until she returned. I told her she had better get there before 6 p.m. if she wanted that to happen.

Around 4:30, the rest of the family decided to have the egg hunt. I laughed and said Tejada was going to be pissed at me.

“That’s crap,” Tejada’s sister-in-law said. “(Boogie) isn’t going to miss out on Easter just because (Tejada) isn’t here. If it was that big of a deal, she would have been there.”

Awesome!

When everyone was leaving, the sister-in-law was sure to tell Tejada’s mom that she better not let Tejada get onto me about the egg hunt. It felt good to have the whole family on my side with the situation.

Tejada was of course pretty irritated, but I didn’t really care. The sister-in-law was right — if it meant that much to her, she would have been there.

Overall, I had a great Easter Sunday spending it with my beautiful little girl. Being a dad makes holidays like this more special.

Mad ramblings

• My goal on Tuesday is to win tickets for Charlie Sheen’s live show later that night. I’m hoping to be successful to see the train wreck in person.

• Consider me genuinely concerned about DRose’s ankle.

• Though not as concerned as Spurs fans should be.

• My fantasy baseball team is in third place overall, despite it hitting .235. .235! The next worst team is hitting .252. That is embarrassing.

• With the NFL Draft coming up on Thursday, I will publish my annual mock draft Wednesday night. Also, I will issue my annual rant about John Clayton.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

One thought on “Yeh-Peu-Dah, meet Boogie

  1. – Yeah, my team is only batting around .256, which considering that was supposed to be my strong suit this year, is fairly dissapointing. I need my whole team healthy at once.

    My pitching staff, however, is chock full of killers at this point.

    – I’m praying for all of us that you get those tickets

    Posted by southernmaninindy | April 26, 2011, 8:08 am

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Cubs World Series picture and Red Robin. My girls know how to treat me on Father's Day. The sound quality wasn't too great at NRG last night, but the Metallica show was still amazing. Seeing them play so many songs from one of the best albums ever - The Black Album - was something I've always wanted to do. #bucketlist Ready for Metallica! Not gonna lie... I want this suit! Whelp, let's try this... #stopsnoring Linsey Alexander with a surprise cameo on the Blues guitar.
