/
posts
Archives

Archives: Nine things I miss about Bama

Word on the street is the apocalypse is coming on Saturday. Too bad, I was looking forward to seeing Airborne Toxic Event in concert for the first time on Sunday.

Either way, I thought this was a good time to revisit the old Myspace blog again. This was written when I was feeling a tad bit home sick.

There are a lot of Editor’s Notes in this one, as I’ve found Texas is actually better than Alabama in some ways.

Hopefully you all will get to read this before the rapture. If not…well I hope that heaven has WiFi.

+++

Nine things I miss about Bama

OK, everyone knows I really like living in Texas and I’m glad I made the move out here. But even after being in Houston for a year now, there are still days that I miss Alabama. Today is one of those days.
So I thought I’d share my list of the top things I miss most about Alabama. Here they are, in no particular order.

Dreamland Barbeque: It’s funny, because Texans think they know what real barbeque tastes like. But they aren’t even close. I’ve been our here a year and I haven’t had any Texas barbeque that is half as good as the tiny white shack in the middle of the Tuscaloosa ghetto.

Without a doubt, Dreamland will forever be a must stop any time I go back to Bama.

<EN: I have found some good barbeque places in Texas, but still nothing compares to Dreamland, or even Jim N’ Nicks for that matter. I will argue this to the death with any Texan!>

On Tap: I’ve found a few good bars in Galveston, but nothing compares to my favorite hangout in the ‘ham. Maybe it’s the cheese fries. Maybe it’s the trivia games. Maybe it’s the woodchuck on draft. Or maybe it’s just because I collected seven years worth of memories at that bar. Whatever it is, I miss that place!

<EN: This was written before I found the dream place known as the Flying Saucer. Sorry On Tap, but you have been replaced.>

Cheap rent: Ah, the days of living in a 1,200-square foot apartment while paying just $375 for rent. Sure I love my apartment out here in Texas better than my Cullman dwelling. But the $855 a month on rent does take a big chunk out of the paycheck.

<EN: My rent + water now is around $970. And don’t even let me get into the whole utility situation out here. Let’s just say deregulating power did not help push prices down in Texas.>

Empty Cullman movie theaters: There’s not many things I had more than a crowded movie theater, especially when obnoxious high schoolers are there. That was one of the good things about Cullman.

We could go to a matinee or a late-night showing after work, and there would usually be less than 10 people in the theater. Plus the prices were a lot lower in Cullman.

<EN: I’ve found late-night showings actually aren’t too crowded at the theater near my apartment, so this isn’t that huge of a deal anymore.>

Light traffic: I used to complain about Birmingham traffic whenever I was driving on I-65 around 5 p.m. Nowadays, I’d welcome that light logjam of cars. Seriously, drive through Houston on a Friday afternoon and you’ll never complain about any traffic in Alabama again.

<EN: It seems like I drive more than ever now with Boogie and Yeh-Peu-Dah both living on the other side of town. I’ve figured out times I absolutely want to stay off the roads, but if I get caught up in traffic, the drive can turn from 45 minutes to and hour and a half. Boo!>

My parents: I usually only made it up to Huntsville once a month, but it was still nice to see my mom and Steve if I wanted to make the short one-hour drive.

My dad would also drive down to Cullman about once every three weeks to take me out to lunch. I’ll still talk to my parents once or twice a week, but it’s weird knowing they live 14 hours away.

<EN: I rarely get to see my parents these days. It’s still tough, but at least there is Skype now, so they can see Boogie from states away.>

Montevallo: You know, I didn’t really make many appearances in Motown after Prior graduated. But the opportunity still existed to swing by the Mass Comm department and the AKL hall whenever I was in the area.

Driving down the brick roads in Montevallo always brought back plenty of great memories. Makes me miss the campus, seeing as I haven’t been there in more than a year.

<EN: I still need to get back there soon, mostly because Scoop and I have to fulfill a deal we made 10 years ago. #nohomo>

Big fish in a small pond: OK, I’ll admit it — I enjoyed the mini-celebrity status I had in Cullman.

Sure I always made a big deal of trying to avoid the general public by shopping at Wal-Mart at 1 a.m. But at times it was nice to have people come up to me at a restaurant or somewhere else in Cullman just to talk sports. Plus it got me occasional perks like free golf or sandwiches at Chick-Fil-A.

While Galveston has three times the circulation of Cullman, the percentage of the county’s population that reads the paper is a lot smaller. People don’t recognize me, which is normally a good thing. But sometimes I miss being a C-list celebrity…

<EN: Actually, I’ve grown to hate people recognizing me in public.>

Hanging out with the bros: This is easily what I miss the most about Alabama.

Whether it was going to a movie, playing golf or just chilling at home and playing video games, there were always non-work friends to do stuff with. Plus if there was a special fraternity event like an Ocoee rafting trip or brotherhood retreat, I was usually able to attend.

I miss spending time with Patty, Andy, Match, Cuddles and the rest of the AKL bros.

<EN: This will never change. Miss ya bros!>

+++

There are a few things I love more in Texas that Alabama can’t offer. Top-notch high school sports, pro sports, a Gulf breeze, Which Wich and other premier places to eat.

Alabama will always have a special place in my heart, but I can say without a doubt that the Houston area is my home now. I don’t foresee leaving anytime soon.

Now, if I can only convince some of my friends to come live out here…

Bear Down and Keep the Faith! 

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Friendly message from the postman that was left on my door. #YouveGotMail #RollTide Great scene at Concord Bridge - free BBQ and supply dropoff for a neighborhood flooded during the storm. #HoustonStrong #RollTide Proof that we have been surviving the storm. #Harvey #BeerMe Mandatory #Houston sunshine photo. Great to see after the past four days. This is the retention pond behind our neighborhood which is protecting our homes from being flooded. Earlier this week it was empty. Now there is more than 10-feet of water in it. It actually went down a bit this afternoon when we got a slight break from the rain. It can still hold another 12 or so feet before it goes over its bank. Hopefully it can hang in there the next few days.
