/
posts
Life, Sports

Where do I get my Tour card?

I was asked the other day what I do since I got laid off in December.

“Well, I do a lot of freelance writing work,” I said.

“I’m also a professional golfer.”

OK, that last statement is a bit of a stretch. Actually, it is a stretch the size of the Grand Canyon. But that doesn’t mean I’m not working to give Rory McIlroy a run for his money.

I mentioned a few months back that I upgraded my golf equipment in an effort to become decent at the game.

I’ve also tried to get into a routine of going to the driving range at least once a week, and playing nine holes at least once every two weeks.

It helps there are some cheap courses around the area, especially if you walk instead of taking a cart. There is a real ghetto Par 3 course built next to an RV park. For less than $10 I can get a bucket of balls for the range and walk all nine holes. That’s a steal, and perfect for someone with my “skills.”

As most know, my shoulder has been a bit of a mess since dislocating it in the Intramural Flag Football Championship in 2001 (Ten tackles and an interception in the title game with a dislocated shoulder…but I’m sure you’ve already heard about that incredible performance). That’s why I am slowly building up to 18 holes, so I don’t screw up more shoulder.

So far, the results are encouraging. I am easily breaking Buckley Par (double regular par) and I am consistently getting shots in the air.

Of course, I am still ending up with shots like this as well.

I’m a little confused as to how this happened, but hopefully my accuracy will improve over time.

My shoulder actually feels like it is strengthening as well. It doesn’t ache nearly as much (though the knots in my neck aren’t very comfortable).

I’ve only made one par in my life, but I have come real close to several recently. However, my putting has been atrocious.

I’m a pretty solid putt-putt player, but thus far it hasn’t translated to the course. I think my form stinks and it probably doesn’t help that I got my putter from Wal-Mart.

Feeling the opportunity is there to start getting at least one par a round, I have upgraded my putter. I went through all my loose change and got $60, which nearly covered the entire costs for my new equipment.

Now most putters are 35-inches, but I elected to go the long putter route, purchasing a 48-inch club. The long putter is essentially for shitty putters like me to take the wrist movement out of putting.

I’ve seen Adam Scott use it on tour. He takes a lot of crap for it, but I thought it was a cool looking club. After researching long putters, I determined it was the best thing for me.

I’m not expecting drastic results early on, but if it can help me cut down on a few putts a round, then it will be a success.

Watch out Rory, I’ll be ready to chase you down any time now!

Job update

Early last month, I applied for a junior copywriter position at a marketing company called BrandExtract. It is an entry level position (that sadly pays almost as well as I was making at the paper), but I called the guy in charge of hiring and let him know I still want to be seriously considered due to my change in career.

He asked to see some more of my features, as well as a few posts from my personal blog (that was a risk sending him a link to this, but one I had to take). He liked my stuff and said he could tell I knew AP Style. I’ve been using that for more than a decade, so I hope I would know it by now.

Anyway, he emailed me last month and let me know they had put the hiring on hold for a bit. He told me to check back at the end of June.

I emailed him Monday to ask if there was an update. He responded, “We’re still in a holding position. Follow up again in about two weeks. Sorry to push you off.”

I’m viewing this as a positive. If he wasn’t interested in me, he would have said so by now. So hopefully they will look to hire soon. At the very least, I should be able to get an interview.

By the way, this is a very good company, having won a Houston web award this week for “Best Use of Facebook to Promote a Personal Brand.”

Mad ramblings

• Speaking of golf, Rick Reilly had a good article recently on Andre “Half man, Half amazing” Gonzales. If you follow @TigerWoods on Twitter, you got to follow @Andres_Gonzales. It is funny stuff.

• Not surprised the NBA will issue a lockout tonight. While I have taken the players side in the NFL stalemate, I have side with the NBA owners on this one. When 22 of 30 teams are losing money, it is clearly time to change the system. Sorry NBA players, but you got to give in on this one.

• Good article in the San Diego Union-Tribune on six ways to fix American soccer.

• I don’t know much about politics, which is why I rely on my bro Andy to keep me updated with his blog. He wrote a funny one this week on the disaster that is Michele Bachmann.

• Also courtesy of Andy, Adam Coralla rants about Dora the Explorer. Good stuff.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Where do I get my Tour card?

  1. Can’t wait to see your improved game here in Cinci in a few weeks.

    Seriously, subscribe to the Adam Corolla podcast for those long Houston drives that you have to take just to get from one intersection to another. You won’t regret it!

    Posted by southernmaninindy | June 30, 2011, 3:34 pm
  2. Hey, why does Green Caye have to be the ghetto????????

    Posted by Colts-Gal | June 30, 2011, 4:06 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

I hate summer. 😑 Always great to see my brothers! #familytree So, this was at a truck stop in Louisiana. I'm sure the tiger is thrilled with this situation. After more than 9 years, I finally earned my 200-beer plate at Flying Saucer! Rooting for a true American hero in one of our favorite sporting events of the year! #hotdogeatingcontest My wife surprised me with a House Stark #GOT shirt! #bestwifeever
