/
posts
Life

Be quiet and cut my hair, please

I admit I can be a bit of a grouch on occasion. OK, on several occasions.

One of those instances is whenever I get a hair cut.

Now I know some people like to chatty, chat, chat with their stylist while getting their hair done. Not me. I’d prefer to sit there in silence while the stylist works quickly and effectively to cut my hair.

There are several places where this rule comes into play with me — the dentist, the gastroenterologist and the grocery store line. I’m sure women feel the exact same way when at the gynecologist.

I commented on this a few years back, and someone told me, “If Sports Clips was designed for anyone, it was you.”

It’s true, Sports Clips is designed for someone like me. They have sports on the TV, steam towels and for the most part have stylists that keep their traps shut.

However, on occasion, I end up with someone like I did Wednesday.

I don’t remember the girl’s name. Frankly, I don’t care. I just know it wasn’t my regular stylist, Caitlin, who cuts me hair quickly and quietly.

I realized this wasn’t going to be a fun 20 minutes when she immediately started asking questions before I had even sat down.

“Just get off of work?” she asked. It was around 3 p.m.

“I wish,” I replied.

“Oh, are you just about to go into work?”

“No.”

At this point, I was hoping she would just drop it. Nope. No such luck.

Seeing as she wouldn’t relent, I went ahead and told her that I had been unemployed since December.

“Oh, I’m sorry to hear that,” she said. “Makes me afraid to ask anything else.”

Yet….she did.

Now, I’m not ashamed to admit I’m unemployed. Hell, there are a ton of good people out there in worse situations than me. However, I’m not always in the mood to have long conversations about it.

I didn’t budge, giving one-word answers when she wanted to discuss if I worked at NASA and the layoffs going on in that section of town.

She finally shut up for a minute, but then started yapping some more — something about Brett Favre and listening to the same commercials every day. I was trying not to pay attention in hopes that she would just quiet down.

She eventually got the hint, and left me alone for the last five minutes of my hair cut. I still gave her the usual 15-percent tip I leave, because she was nice, even if she wouldn’t shut up.

Moral of the story: I will be calling ahead to make sure Caitlin is there to cut my hair. If she isn’t, when they ask if I want a particular stylist, my answer will now be, “Whoever is the quietest.”

Mad ramblings

• I really think the whole “finding the next prodigy” has gone a bit overboard, with Real Madrid signing a 7-year-old from Argentina. A 7-year-old!

• Shark Week is over, but it is still worth pointing out what a complete idiot this guy is. “How could something possibly go wrong when I kiss a shark?”

• The massive drought out here in Texas has led to an interesting discover in Nacogdoches — pieces of the space shuttle Columbia.

• This is Shaq and his new girlfriend. Explain to me how this works?

• Hey Forbes, how could you leave Montevallo completely off this list of top colleges? Purples and Golds (and Greens) unite with a middle finger salute.

Members of the Pittsburgh Steelers are in the new Batman movie. No word on if Rapelisthberger jumped Catman when she was in the bathroom.

• Finally, to get in the mood for the debate of Jurgen Klinsmann as the USMNT coach against Mexico on Wednesday, I was sharing the link to David Hasselhoff’s “Looking for Freedom” on YouTube.

While there, I clicked on the link to this video. BEST. VIDEO. EVER.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Be quiet and cut my hair, please

  1. Points:

    – Yeah, I’ve seen the Hasselfhoff video before, it’s amazing.
    – Hoopz! When you’ve rejected Flavor Flav before, your next best option is to have Shaq break you in half sexually
    – Had a similar experience at Sports Clips the other day. “Honey, you know the tv is on, so you don’t have to be, right?”

    Posted by southernmaninindy | August 11, 2011, 2:48 pm
  2. For some reason I didn’t receive this as an email like I normally do. Are you trying to tell me something Buckley??

    As far as Hoopz goes, didn’t Flavor Flav reject her? I don’t remember, but that doesn’t up her creditibility. Also, no worries, it’s possible……

    I did notice that Texas didn’t have ONE school in the top 100 of the top colleges. I didn’t go past there.

    I must say with that video, that is 2 minutes of my life I won’t get back….

    Posted by Jenna Tubbs | August 14, 2011, 10:48 am

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Friendly message from the postman that was left on my door. #YouveGotMail #RollTide Great scene at Concord Bridge - free BBQ and supply dropoff for a neighborhood flooded during the storm. #HoustonStrong #RollTide Proof that we have been surviving the storm. #Harvey #BeerMe Mandatory #Houston sunshine photo. Great to see after the past four days. This is the retention pond behind our neighborhood which is protecting our homes from being flooded. Earlier this week it was empty. Now there is more than 10-feet of water in it. It actually went down a bit this afternoon when we got a slight break from the rain. It can still hold another 12 or so feet before it goes over its bank. Hopefully it can hang in there the next few days.
