/
posts
Life, Sports

Happy Birthday, Old Lady

High school football season is almost here, and boy have I been busy.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve had a bunch of preview stories along with hunting down all the former Galveston County players in college for my Alumni Notebook.

I also had a meeting with the rest of the CMC Communications crew at the SportsTalk 790 studios. Our first radio broadcast for this season is on Friday — Deer Park at Dickinson. You can listen online and with the iHeartRadio app.

While doing all these little stringer jobs, I still managed to find some time to head up to Minute Maid Park for the first time this season to see the Cubs vs. Astros.

Yes, I actually paid to attend that game.

This was the first baseball game Yeh-Peu-Dah has ever been to with me. I, of course, wore my Cubs gear, while she wore an Astros shirt. Couple divided indeed.

We were sitting in one of the upper sections, which was good considering she is afraid of foul balls.

That reminded me of one of my more favorite baseball memories — one that caused Yeh-Peu-Dah to shake her head in disgust.

+++

The year was 2001 and I was working for my dad’s company over the summer in order to buy my first car. I worked on a project taking satellite data for NORAD and turning it into XML.

The big boss of the company came into my office one day and said he had two tickets for the Double-A Huntsville Stars game the next day. He asked if I want them.

Of course!

I called up Scoop and he was definitely in. He picked me up that afternoon and it was off to Joe Davis Stadium.

The tickets turned out to be pretty awesome. They were right behind the visiting dugout. I mean, the row behind. Best seats I ever had for a baseball game.

Our seats were so good that Scoop and I thought the possibility of getting a foul ball was high. I had never gotten a foul ball before, so that was exciting to me.

About four innings in, my dream came true. A right-handed hitter for the Stars hit a foul ball in our direction. It skipped off the top of the dugout and went right underneath the seat to the right of me.

I pounced with cat-like quickness, snagging the ball from the seat’s occupant for my first foul ball. I stood up, held it high and let out a “Yay!” which received cheers from the crowd.

After I sat down, I looked beside me to see who I had snagged the ball away from. It was an older lady.

The lady seemed a bit disappointed she didn’t get the ball. Then she mentioned something about it being her birthday.

At this point, I did the only thing I could do.

“The next foul ball I get, I’ll give it to you,” I told her.

Now some (like Yeh-Peu-Dah) would think this is cruel. I don’t.

Here’s the way I look at it — that foul ball meant way more to me than it did to her. I bet it would just end up in a dusty cabinet at her home.

Besides, she’d be dead way sooner than me anyway.

Scoop laughed at the situation and wasn’t too surprised by my decision. In fact, at the end of the game, one of the players threw him a ball. He kept it, too.

Buckley & Scoop 2, Old Lady 0.

+++

I texted Scoop while telling Yeh-Peu-Dah the story. He’s an elephant and remembers everything.

“Remember that time I took a foul ball from an old lady?” I texted.

About a minute later, I got his answer.

“Yeah, but it was only her birthday, so don’t worry about it.”

Yeh-Peu-Dah was speechless.

+++

When we returned to Yeh-Peu-Dah’s place, we told the story to Jenny.

“You’re such an asshole, Josh,” she said.

Fair enough. So I added this to the story.

“Well, if it makes it any better, if I had it all to do over again… I’d do the exact same thing.”

No regrets!

Mad ramblings

• I got to do an article last week on the press conference announcing the UFC’s return to Houston in October. I’m hoping the Chronicle lets me cover it for them.

• The Cubs finally got rid of GM Jim Hendry. Next up, manager Mike Quade. That dude is horrible.

• Cars, yachts, strippers — damn, I should have been a football player at Miami.

• The Texas A&M to the SEC has replaced Favre Watch this summer.

It’s been 100 degrees for a record 21 straight days. Monday we are poised to set the record for most 100-degree days in a year in Houston at 33. In short — it’s fucking hot out here.

• I’ve mentioned before how much I like the Facebook statuses of some of the high school football players I cover. One of the guys had a classic status post on Sunday.

“Drunk sex or Wake up sex?”

Yup, a 17-year-old kid. I am dreading my daughter going to high school.

• I’m not sure I ever want to go swimming again after reading this article on an amoeba.

• Of course, maybe it is the aliens that we should worry about instead of amoebas.

• I have become absolutely addicted to “Storage Wars.” For those that haven’t seen it, check out A&E on Wednesdays. It’s basically guys that buy auctioned off storage units. I especially like the old collector, Barry.

• Normally I don’t pay much attention to politics, but the Tea Party and its “job creators” argument has me kind of disgusted. As an unemployed single dad, I don’t really have a lot of sympathy for “job creators” avoiding larger taxes.

That’s why I found this Daily Show piece fantastic. It kind of points out the absurdity of the whole argument.

Jon Stewart takes on “Class Warfare” claims

• Finally, today’s video is courtesy of a link from Andy. Who thought this was a good idea?

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Old Lady

  1. No, it’s not even up for debate – you’re an asshole. I mean, Jesus, you couldn’t give up a double A foul ball that’s probably sitting in YOUR closet? I hope she died and her ghost is haunting you.

    Posted by southernmaninindy | August 22, 2011, 10:05 am
    • Actually, I displayed that foul ball on my desk at work for years. Unfortunately, someone swiped it during Hurricane Ike. Bastards. But then again, I guess that is karma.

      And let’s be honest, if/when that lady did die, I’m sure that ball would have ended up in the trash or a yard sale. I got WAY more enjoyment from it then she would have.

      /tryingtojustifyactions

      Posted by Joshua Buckley | August 22, 2011, 10:39 am

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Cubs World Series picture and Red Robin. My girls know how to treat me on Father's Day. The sound quality wasn't too great at NRG last night, but the Metallica show was still amazing. Seeing them play so many songs from one of the best albums ever - The Black Album - was something I've always wanted to do. #bucketlist Ready for Metallica! Not gonna lie... I want this suit! Whelp, let's try this... #stopsnoring Linsey Alexander with a surprise cameo on the Blues guitar.
