/
posts
Life

Officially a resident of the ‘Concrete Jungle’

After more than five years living on the coast, I’ve officially moved to the big city.

I loved the Clear Lake area when I moved to Texas in 2006. It was halfway between Houston and Galveston, offering the luxuries of both towns.

The Clear Lake area isn’t the concrete jungle that Houston is. You can still find trees and beautiful water coming from the bay into Clear Lake. The weather had a gulf breeze behind it and the seagulls and unique wildlife near the lake were always a treat.

Of course, being near a major metropolis, there was still plenty to do. I didn’t have to drive more than five minutes to get to a mall, movie theater, loads of restaurants or, most importantly, Wal-Mart.

However, there were downsides to living in Clear Lake.

For starters, none of my friends lived on this side of town. Once Corey moved to Sugarland, that meant all of my close friends that I hang out with lived on the west side of town.

It got worse when Tejada moved in with her mom on the west side of town. To go see Boogie, I had to drive 45 minutes one way.

Yeh-Peu-Dah also lived over there, so at least I could double-up by seeing her and Boogie on the same trip. However, the costs were starting to add up.

Once I got laid off, I started making more trips to see Boogie. Each month I was spending $250 in gas and another $80 in tolls. Not fun.

I was planning on moving once my lease was up, assuming I didn’t get another job in Galveston. When my old apartment tried to raise my rent by more than $200 a month, that sealed the deal.

Of course, moving without a full-time job was difficult. There aren’t a whole lot of places that take unemployment as a source of income.

I thought I was going to end up in some ghetto place, until I stumbled upon an apartment in the Westchase District. There are some shady places on that side of town, but the place I looked at (Westchase Forest) was nice. Most importantly, they would accept me with my financial situation.

I moved in a couple of weeks ago and so far I am very pleased with the place. It’s not as big as my old apartment, but the bedrooms are bigger and the living room was a perfect size for the coaches that Jenny and Yeh-Peu-Dah gave me.

Boogie’s room is much bigger than her old room, which has allowed me to move all of her toys in there. I can’t even begin to say what a big deal that is for keeping the rest of the apartment clean.

Even better, then apartment staff is awesome. They are super nice to Boogie and I, and are quick to fix any problem I have.

I’ve got a bunch of stuff hung on the walls, and for the first time in years, I feel like this is my home. This is the fifth apartment I have lived in since I moved to Texas. The best before now was my second apartment, where I lived before I met Tejada.

Even when Tejada left my previous apartment, I still didn’t feel like it was completely my home. Now I do!

So now I am officially living in the concrete jungle. Big office buildings are right around the corner, and traffic is of course, a joy. However, being closer to Boogie and Yeh-Peu-Dah is so much better. Plus I have been able to see my friends more often.

I will miss Clear Lake, but I am excited about officially living in the city. Hopefully this place continues to be as good as it seems early on. Because I hate moving and would like to be settled into a place I can call “my own” for a few years.

‘Freest move I’ve ever seen’

On a side not, I have to give a big shout to Charles McCullough for making the moving experience much easier for me.

Because of my finances, I was planning on just renting a truck and bribing some people to help me move. It was going to suck big time, but I couldn’t afford professional movers this time around.

Charles asked if I was going to need help moving, and I said I probably was. He called me the next day with some amazing news.

He made a deal with a local moving company, Di-Co Moving. In exchange for a year’s worth of advertising, they were going to move me for free. Wow, wow, wow!

The guys with Di-Co Moving were great. They were nice, fast and most importantly, careful with all of my stuff. I was completely out of my old place and had everything in my new place in five hours. That is impressive.

Afterwards, the guy with the paperwork was laughing.

“This was the freest move I’ve ever seen,” he said.

That is the truth. I was the big winner in this deal.

Charles has been so unbelievably great to me since I got laid off. He’s allowed me to continue doing what I love — covering Galveston County sports.

I’m hopeful when I get a regular job I can still continue working with Charles and CMC Communications. He is a great boss and an even better friend.

Thanks Charles!

Mad ramblings

• I saw this sign on the way to a football game on Thursday. All I have to say is WOW!

• I am happy with the Cubs’ choice of Dale Sveum as the new manager. Mike Maddux was my top choice, and I’ve heard the top choice of the Cubs, but he withdrew due to family reasons. Once he pulled out, Sveum was the easy choice.

• Now let’s see if the Cubs can start building a good foundation this offseason. Just please don’t trade Castro, Garza or Kerry Wood.

• I understand the Astros fans being pissed about MLB’s blackmail, which forced them to go to the American League. I will miss the Cubs coming into town every year. However, Houston’s current issues go way beyond changing leagues.

• Go to Miami, Pujols. You know you want to…

• If you missed Thursday night’s episode of “The League” you missed a classic. It may have been the series’ best episode yet — and that’s saying something.

• Had an interesting 30-minute discussion with Angry Patrick about “The Walking Dead.” Patrick had a few theories on how he would survive a zombie apocalypse. Part of it involves shitting in a bucket.

I ❤ Patrick.

• I found this Bob Knight-Coach K story a fantastic read.

• The NBA owners are complete assholes. However, they are way smarter than the players.

I guess this is what should be expected when economic models are explained to a group where more than 80-percent of the membership doesn’t have a college degree.

• Racism is still alive in this country…and it is disgusting. This email is another example.

• Finally, what would happen if Siri answered the questions Bob Costas asked that monster Jerry Sandusky?

Coming Monday

The Curious Case of Tim Tebow and reviewing my crappy NFL predictions at the midseason mark.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

One thought on “Officially a resident of the ‘Concrete Jungle’

  1. The League is waiting for me at home on DVR

    Posted by southernmaninindy | November 18, 2011, 3:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Cubs World Series picture and Red Robin. My girls know how to treat me on Father's Day. The sound quality wasn't too great at NRG last night, but the Metallica show was still amazing. Seeing them play so many songs from one of the best albums ever - The Black Album - was something I've always wanted to do. #bucketlist Ready for Metallica! Not gonna lie... I want this suit! Whelp, let's try this... #stopsnoring Linsey Alexander with a surprise cameo on the Blues guitar.
