/
posts
Life, Top Five

Top Five: Things to be thankful for in 2011

Happy Thanksgiving to all of my friends and readers!

I know I have plenty to be thankful for, so I figured this would be a good time to have another Top 5.

So what am I thankful for in 2011? Here’s the list.

At the bottom

• Wisdom teeth: No dental insurance + wisdom teeth coming in = No Fun.

• Vision: My vision is so off that I am getting sick when I drive at night. Luckily there was a Groupon that came out this week, which will allow me to get this problem fixed.

• Tejada: Yeah, definitely not thankful for her.

Honorable mention

• Alabama football: It sure has been nice to rub Alabama’s (and the SEC’s) success in the face of all these Texas and Texas A&M fans. Roll Tide!

• My Droid: How did I ever live without this thing?

• Twitter: How did I ever live without this?

No. 5: My new apartment

I was tired of driving across town at least five times a week. I mean, real tired of driving.

My new apartment has cut down on my travel throughout Houston immensely. I am going to see the financial help with that this month.

The best part of my new apartment, though, is that it is mine. I haven’t had a feeling like I was “home” in a long time.

Hopefully I will stay here a while because I really like it — and I am sick of moving.

No. 4: Cosa Nostra

Throughout the hard times in my life, I’ve always been able to rely on my AKL brothers to help me. More specifically, Patty and Andy have always been there for me.

I don’t have any siblings, but Patty and Andy are very much my brothers. I feel so fortunate to have them in my life and couldn’t imagine what it would be like without them.

Affiliation that is binding for life.

No. 3: CMC Broadcasting

Those who know me know that one of my passions in life is high school sports. That was one reason I was so heartbroken when I got laid off.

However, Charles McCullough has allowed me to continue covering high school sports in a new and unique way. I have really grown to love radio broadcasting, and I have gotten positive feedback from it.

I also have to thank The Post Newspaper and the Houston Chronicle for giving me assignments to cover throughout the year. I’ve gotten to see some great games, and even covered the UFC event in Houston.

Not having a full-time job covering sports is sad, but these people have allowed me to continue my dream as a sports writer. That means so much to me.

No. 2: Boogie

I love my baby girl.

Yes, she’s going through the “Terrible Twos” and drives me cookoo on occasion, but I love her more than anyone in the world.

Being unemployed has sucked, but getting to spend a ton of time with Boogie has been great. I feel like we have built an incredibly close relationship, which I lasts a lifetime.

No. 1: Yeh-Peu-Dah

It is unheard of for me to make a list without Boogie at the top. However, the person that has gotten me through this year with my sanity is Yeh-Peu-Dah.

When Tejada left last year, I had no desire to get into another relationship. In fact, I wasn’t sure if I would ever get serious with someone again.

Then I found Yeh-Peu-Dah.

I went in with no expectations. I thought she seemed like a cool girl and would be fun to hang out with. However, it’s turned into something more than either of us could have imagined.

I’ve never had a woman treat me so good. She’s there for my when I need someone to cheer me up, someone to talk to, or just when I want the company. It’s the type of relationship many successful couples talk about, but one I have never experienced until now.

I think our relationship has been so successful because we have done things the right way. We’ve become great friends, focusing on that for the past 10 months.

Neither of us knows what the future holds. However, I am crazy about her and am hopeful she doesn’t go anywhere. She has told me she feels the same.

I don’t know what this past year’s events would have been like without her in my life. Thankfully, she’s been there every step of the way.

난 로라 당신을 사랑

Mad ramblings

• A condensed top five — favorite Thanksgiving foods.

1. Grandma Buckley’s fruit salad

2. Jellied cranberry sauce

3. Turkey (Breast meat)

4. Apple pie

5. Egg nog

• Sunday’s episode of The Walking Dead was the best this season. Unfortunately, the midseason finale is already this weekend. Seriously, midseason finale?

• I purchased some “Lunch with Elvis” coffee on Wednesday. Friend banana and peanut butter roasted coffee? Not too shabby.

• Finally, it is Iron Bowl week. Anyone that watched ESPN’s documentary “Roll Tide/War Eagle” a couple weeks back understands why it is the best rivalry in sports.

I won’t be able to watch the game live because I will be covering a high school playoff game. However, I will definitely be sporting my Alabama hat and getting updates every 10 seconds.

One win away from the national championship game, boys! Roll Tide Roll!

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Great scene at Concord Bridge - free BBQ and supply dropoff for a neighborhood flooded during the storm. #HoustonStrong #RollTide Proof that we have been surviving the storm. #Harvey #BeerMe Mandatory #Houston sunshine photo. Great to see after the past four days. This is the retention pond behind our neighborhood which is protecting our homes from being flooded. Earlier this week it was empty. Now there is more than 10-feet of water in it. It actually went down a bit this afternoon when we got a slight break from the rain. It can still hold another 12 or so feet before it goes over its bank. Hopefully it can hang in there the next few days. That moment when you realize #Harvey could prevent you from watching the #GOT finale.
