/
posts
Sports

Horrible Predictions: NFL Playoffs ’12

The NFL regular season is sadly over. Seriously, is it me, or does football season go by way to fast?

With the season over, it is time to revisit my appropriately named Horrible Predictions from the preseason. Let me tell you, I had some stinker picks this year.

The original picks are in italics.

NFC East

1. Philadelphia: They aren’t the unbeatable dream team as some are making them out to be, but they are still going to win this division by 2-3 games.

2. New York: I was really feeling the Giants, and then they lost half their secondary to injury during the preseason. That’s not good.

Looking back: Oh, Philly, why did I buy into the hype?

NFC North

1. Green Bay: All those injured players for the Super Bowl champs are back. That makes them even stronger.

2. Chicago: They will still make the playoffs, thanks to the defense, but I doubt they can beat the Packers.

3. Detroit: Let’s be honest, the Lions won’t make the playoffs because no way Stafford stays healthy the whole season.

Looking back: Honestly, had Cutler and Forte not gotten hurt, I believe I would have been correct with this prediction. Bears were 7-3 and had an easy upcoming schedule when Cutler went down. They had no shot without him, though.

NFC South

1. New Orleans: I think the Saints had a lot of pressure last year as defending champs. Some of the pressure is off this year, which will result in a division title.

2. Atlanta: The Falcons will fight the Saints all year for the division title. They should claim the top wild card spot.

Looking back: Nailed this one.

NFC West

1. St. Louis: The Rams made a lot of upgrades for a squad that just missed the playoffs last year. Bradford is a stud, and should have a big season.

4. San Francisco: With the first pick in the 2012 NFL Draft, the San Francisco 49ers select Andrew Luck, quarterback, Stanford.

Looking back: Ugh…let’s move on.

AFC East

1. New York: I think the offense will be better with Sanchez in his third year and a full season of Santonio Holmes. The defense is always great and I think Rex is one of the top coaches in the league.

2. New England: Another year, another playoff berth for the Patriots.

Looking back: So I was a tad bit off on the Jets.

AFC North

1. Baltimore: The Ravens seem in good position to finally overtake Pittsburgh this year. Can Flacco keep from screwing that up?

2. Pittsburgh: One of these years, Pittsburgh isn’t going to get all the breaks.

4. Cincinnati: The Bengals are going to give San Fran a run for its money at the top pick.

Looking back: Was right about the top two. The Bengals…not so much.

AFC South

1. Houston: If the Texans can’t win the division this year, they never will. The offense is stellar and the defense can’t be worse than it was last year.

3. Indianapolis: I think Peyton misses a lot of time. And the Colts will lose most of those games.

Looking back: Never would have expected the Colts to finish worst in the league, though my prediction was right on other than that.

AFC West

1. San Diego: The Chargers start off slow again, Norv Turner gets fired, and yet they still win this shitty division.

3. Denver: Why are people acting like Kyle Orton is this great quarterback? Seriously, he’s not that good, and neither is the rest of this rebuilding team.

Looking back: Should have foreseen Tebow magic. And the Chargers still should have won this shitty division.

HORRIBLE PLAYOFF PREDICTIONS

NFC Playoffs

• Wild card: Atlanta over St. Louis, New Orleans over Chicago

• Divisional: Green Bay over Atlanta, Philadelphia over New Orleans

• Conference: Philadelphia over Green Bay

Looking back: So maybe I overestimated Philly this season.

AFC Playoffs

• Wild card: Pittsburgh over San Diego, Baltimore over New England

• Divisional: Baltimore over Houston, New York over Pittsburgh

• Conference: New York over Baltimore

Looking back: So maybe I overestimated the Jets this season.

• Super Bowl: New York Jets 23, Philadelphia 21

Looking back: I meant for this to be the 2013 Super Bowl, with Peyton Manning at QB for New York.

So now that we have gone through the horrible preseason predictions, here are my new horrible postseason predictions.

NFC Playoffs

Wild card: New Orleans over Detroit, New York over Atlanta

To me, the Saints and Giants are the two scariest teams to face in the playoffs right now.

Divisional: New Orleans over San Francisco, New York over Green Bay

The Saints over the 49ers is an easy prediction to make. Picking the Giants in an upset is way more risky.

If the Giants defensive line can play like it did against Dallas on Sunday, though, they can beat Green Bay. The Packers have no running game and the Giants can keep up with Green Bay scoring.

NFC Championship: New Orleans over New York

This has the chance to be a fun game. However, I’m not sure if the Saints can be beat in the Dome this season. May need a late score in the fourth quarter to seal the win, though.

AFC Playoffs

Wild card: Houston over Cincinnati, Pittsburgh over Denver

Yes, Houston is beat up and has lost three straight. I saw the Texans pull it together in front of a rabid crowd on Saturday.

Denver might be able to keep it close, but I’m not sure Tebow has the weapons to beat the Steelers defense. I hope I’m wrong.

Divisional: Baltimore over Houston, New England over Pittsburgh

Baltimore is absolutely going to crush Houston. As for the Patriots, I think the Steelers will have a hard time scoring enough points, especially with Mendenhall out for the year.

AFC Championship: Baltimore over New England

The Patriots defense finally dooms them, as Ray Rice and Joe Flacco light up the scoreboard. Baltimore has the defensive personnel to limit the Pats to 24 points on the scoreboard.

Super Bowl: New Orleans 31, Baltimore 20

The Saints can be a sneaky physical team, and that will be the difference in this game. Flacco implodes in the second half, and Brees claims another Lombardi and MVP Trophy.

So what does all of this mean? Go put all of your money on a Packers-Patriots Super Bowl. After all, why are you going to trust my horrible predictions.

There’s a hole in my mouth

I noticed I had a wisdom tooth coming in on the top right side in late 2010. It was right after I wrecked my car, so my dentist fraternity brother Kevin told me I could wait a little bit before getting the tooth out.

I had planned to get it removed early 2011, but then I was laid off and had no health insurance.

The tooth was thankfully coming in straight, so I didn’t have to deal with too much pain. Just general soreness.

However, last week, the pain became unbearable. I couldn’t even chew my food, and I would wake up at 2 a.m. needing to take four ibuprofen just to fall back asleep.

My new health insurance doesn’t kick in for 90 days, but I couldn’t wait any longer.

Turns out, I found a place that gave me a heck of a deal. I ended up get the x-rays and the tooth removed for $178 — without insurance. The pain is gone and my bank account isn’t that much lighter — a win-win situation.

Meanwhile, Yeh-Peu-Dah continued her legendary nursing skills. When I woke up from my first drug-induced nap, she had picked up some Chinese food. She took all of the meat from the dish and cut it into tiny pieces, so I wouldn’t have to chew at all.

I ended up having a great lunch of rice and meat thanks to her careful preparation. I felt that was going above and beyond the call of duty. Definitely not something I am used to.

By the next day, the tooth was fine. I still have to watch what I am eating a bit because of the hole in my mouth where the tooth was removed. However, based on horror stories I have heard from others, I got off pretty easy.

Mad ramblings

• I LOVED talking shit to all of the Oklahoma State fans on Twitter Monday after the Cowboys squeaked by Stanford. Seriously OSU fans, if you wanted a shot at the national title, you should have beat Iowa Fucking State!

• One particular Twitter follower said I was just an SEC homer, and the conference was no good. My response:

“6 Titles #dropsmic”

• Great article by Clay Travis on how Twitter has changed sports journalism.

• Storage Wars still continues to be one of the best shows on TV. Storage Wars Texas….not so much.

• Upgraded to the Mac Lion OS. Not too bad. Should make doing my new job from my laptop much easier.

• Started my new job on Tuesday. Will post later this week on how it is going.

• Also later this week, I will have a true mad ramblings column. Lot to discuss, including with the Colts, Bears and the NBA season.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Horrible Predictions: NFL Playoffs ’12

  1. Peyton is not leaving!! Hopefully Caldwell is!!

    Posted by Jenna Tubbs | January 4, 2012, 4:34 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Jews sure know how to party « Rebuilding the Franchise - January 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

I hate summer. 😑 Always great to see my brothers! #familytree So, this was at a truck stop in Louisiana. I'm sure the tiger is thrilled with this situation. After more than 9 years, I finally earned my 200-beer plate at Flying Saucer! Rooting for a true American hero in one of our favorite sporting events of the year! #hotdogeatingcontest My wife surprised me with a House Stark #GOT shirt! #bestwifeever
