/
posts
Entertainment, Sports

Mad Ramblings: Super thoughts and Peyton’s revenge

It’s been nice to be back to work, but a crazy schedule has resulted in this blog being on the backburner for a few weeks.

You know what it means when I return from a blog hiatus, though — Mad Ramblings.

SUPER BOWL

• I didn’t get a chance to put my Super Bowl prediction on the blog, but I did post it on Twitter.

“Giants 27, Patriots 17. NYG pull away in 4Q.”

I was fairly close on the score.

• The Manningham catch was the play of the Super Bowl, but I would argue the throw was even better than the catch. There aren’t a lot of quarterbacks in the league that can make that throw, and Eli is one of them.

• The more I think about it, the more I think Ahmad Bradshaw scoring on the final Giants drive was a good idea.

Obviously, you would like to score with no time left in the game. However, there are so many bad things that can happen on a field goal attempt. The snap could be bad, the kick may be wide or it might be blocked.

I say take the six points and make Brady drive 80 yards with one timeout and less than a minute.

Critics may say you don’t deserve to win if you can’t hit a chip shot field goal. I say you don’t deserve to win if you allow a team to drive 80 yards in 56 seconds.

• Eli deserved the MVP, but I also think Justin Tuck earned it as well. He forced Brady into the safety (a good call by the way) and had a pair of big sacks.

• I’m curious to see if “Bradying” catches fire as quickly as “Tebowing” did.

Poor Tommy

• Before proclaiming Eli and Tom Coughlin as no-doubt Hall of Famers, let’s get Cris Carter in there first. As you can tell I have lost a considerable amount of faith in the NFL HOF voting system.

• No one at the party I attended noticed MIA’s middle finger. And even so, who cares?

The Houston Chronicle thought people did. It ran a subhead on the story that said, “Singer’s obscene gesture overshadows thrilling Giants’ victory.” My friends at the Chron were not too pleased with the headline.

Though it was still better than this subhead by the Suffolk Journal — Even we had some dumb fuckers sign up!

• Madonna got rave reviews for her Super Bowl halftime show. I thought it was solid, but I still think Bruce Springsteen has been the top show post-Nipplegate.

Looking ahead at halftime shows, I guarantee Bon Jovi is the act for the Super Bowl in New York in 2014. Mark it down.

What about next year, though? The NFL likes to go for older artists/bands. MIA’s little incident means the NFL isn’t likely to move towards younger groups anytime soon.

With that in mind, here are some potential performers for the 2013 Super Bowl in New Orleans: Pearl Jam, Queen, Van Halen, AC/DC and Rush.

Pearl Jam would be my top choice, but I can totally see Van Halen or Rush on the stage next year.

I’m sure some of you have thoughts on this. (Looking at you Andy Heaton!)

AROUND THE NFL

• Early Super Bowl XLVII prediction: Texans vs. Bears

OK, that may be a bit too much of a homer pick.

• Early Super Bowl XLVII prediction: Texans vs. Saints

• I reserve the right to change picks to the Jets or 49ers should a healthy Peyton Manning sign there.

• Speaking of PM, my prediction — he is the starting quarterback for the Tennessee Titans next season.

I took a lot of heat on Twitter for that prediction, but honestly, I think it makes a lot of sense.

Peyton is going to want to go somewhere he has a chance to win next year. That rules out Miami, Cleveland and Washington.

He won’t be thrilled about playing in crappy outdoor conditions. Out goes Seattle.

That leaves obvious candidates as the Jets, 49ers and Cardinals. However, the Titans give Peyton something none of those teams can — an opportunity to return home and beat the Colts twice next year.

Tennessee already has a good defense, an elite running back and some solid receiving targets. Why wouldn’t the Titans go after him? Because they have Matt Hasselbeck or Jake Locker? Please.

You heard it here first — Peyton wearing Titans blue in Nashville. Scoop and Steph can now celebrate.

• Some media members have brought up the Texans should at least consider bringing Peyton to Houston. This has prompted a bunch of outrage from fans, who say they don’t need/want Manning.

Yeah…I have no idea what Texan fans are thinking.

• Once Peyton and Matt Flynn sign, then the battle will begin for the No. 2 pick in the draft to get RGIII. St. Louis will hold out for the best offers, but it should get some good ones.

MORE SPORTS

• For those that remembered Tim Tebow’s recruiting decision between Alabama and Florida, this is a fascinating article.

Believe it or not, getting Tebow could have made Alabama a less successful program than it is today. Read on.

• I wish I would have had time to break down the Joe Paterno death controversy on Twitter in full detail on this blog. Instead, I had a smaller blog post on our HCN sites: Paterno gaffe shows the good and the bad of Twitter.

• Prince Fielder signed with Detroit. The Clippers may be “Lob City,” but I hereby rename the Tigers “Fat City.”

I mean, look at their the faces of their corner infielders. Yikes.

Detroit buffets are in trouble!

• And yes, I still hate Miguel Cabrera.

ENTERTAINMENT

• Yeh-Peu-Dah and I saw Underworld: Awakening a few weeks back. While not as much story-based as the rest of the Underworld movies, it was still a solid flick nonetheless. Kate Beckinsale is a complete badass in the movie again.

• The Walking Dead returns on Sunday. The new seasons of Survivor and Celebrity Apprentice start next week. Can’t wait.

• I’m not sure how I missed this Robot Chicken Star Trek 2 opera, but I couldn’t stop laughing when it was on the other night.

• Major nerd alert, but if you want a breakdown of the new Avengers trailer, this is the place to find it — IGN Rewind Theater.

• With Ghost Rider 2 coming out this month, and Avengers, Batman and Spiderman (which looks surprisingly good in the latest trailer) set for this summer, I will finally get around to post my Top 5 superhero movies blog. I’ve watched some of them again in recent weeks (Ghost Rider, First Class, Iron Man 2), so I finally settled in on my choices.

• On Black Friday, Yeh-Peu-Dah’s sister was nice enough to pick up a copy of Batman Arkham City for $26. It was a great game and quite a bargain for that price.

After beating the game, I decided to trade it into GameStop for credit. Mass Effect 3 comes out next month, so I wanted to have store credit to purchase that.

When I went to GameStop on Saturday, they were running a deal — get an extra 30-percent trade-in credit on games when pre-ordering Mass Effect 3. Add in my Players Reward card and that meant I was getting an extra 40-percent by turning in Arkham City.

After it was all tallied up, I got $28 worth of store credit to put towards ME3. That’s right, I actually made $2 playing perhaps the best game of 2011. That’s a deal, folks.

FINAL THOUGHTS

• As I will describe in a blog later this month, a lot of my new job entails using social media to promote our websites. McDonald’s tried this marketing idea with Twitter, and it was an epic #McFail.

Honestly, how McDonald’s didn’t see this coming is beyond me. Twitter can be a negative outlet, and a marketing strategy like this was bound to blow up. I imagine someone(s) lost their job over that mistake.

• I was never a huge College Night guy at Montevallo, but my bro Andy did a good job explaining its importance to the school in his latest blog post.

• Finally, Letterman had his 30th anniversary show last week, and he invited The Airborne Toxic Event to play. It seemed fitting, since Letterman was really TATE’s first big break and he clearly loves the band.

It was another stellar performance. However they will go on tour again soon.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Mad Ramblings: Super thoughts and Peyton’s revenge

  1. heehee. you said “pair of big sacks.”

    Posted by Brian | February 8, 2012, 1:13 pm
  2. Peyton will not play for Tennessee!!!!! Of course, right now it looks like he won’t play at all!!

    Posted by Jenna Tubbs | February 10, 2012, 1:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Cubs World Series picture and Red Robin. My girls know how to treat me on Father's Day. The sound quality wasn't too great at NRG last night, but the Metallica show was still amazing. Seeing them play so many songs from one of the best albums ever - The Black Album - was something I've always wanted to do. #bucketlist Ready for Metallica! Not gonna lie... I want this suit! Whelp, let's try this... #stopsnoring Linsey Alexander with a surprise cameo on the Blues guitar.
