/
posts
Entertainment, Top Five

Top Five: Superhero movies

It is shaping up to be another big summer of superhero movies. It starts today with Ghost Rider 2, then continues with the Avengers, Dark Knight Rising and the Amazing Spiderman.

That got me thinking — what are my favorite superhero movies of all time?

As I sat down and went through my list — here is the master list I went off of — I was kind of surprised which ones missed the cut.

I went with superhero movie franchises, meaning if there were multiple films in a series, they counted together. For instance, the X-Men 1, 2 and 3 are grouped together, but X-Men First Class was a separate movie series.

So here is the list of my favorite superhero movies.

Honorable Mention

• Iron Man: I actually really liked these movies. Only reason it missed the cut is because the lack of a superior villain in the movies. Mickey Rouke could have been awesome in Iron Man 2, but he only faced Tony Stark twice and was dispatched easily on both occasions. That was a bit disappointing.

• Blade: Another tough omission. The Blade trilogy is one of those guilty pleasures.

• Captain America: Solid flick, but it felt like it was missing something.

• Superman (original): Superman 2 may be one of the top superhero movies of all time. However, it could make up for the disaster that was Superman 4: Quest for Peace.

• Hulk (Ang Lee version): I’m lying. This is perhaps the worst superhero movie of all time.

No. 5. X-Men: First Class

I am separating First Class from the first three X-Men films, because it is a prequel and a completely different series.

When I first heard this movie was coming out, I was hesitant. However, I really enjoyed it.

The whole Magneto story line was fantastic and I thought Michael Fassbender was unbelievable in the role.

Some of the lesser-known X-Men were a bit lame, but the Beast and Mystique back stories were well done.

No. 4. Hellboy

Probably the surprise choice of the group. I think the two Hellboy movies are underrated when looking over the whole superhero move genre.

Ron Perlman plays the character with the perfect amount of humor and brawn. Guillermo del Toro is also one of, if not the, most creative director in the business.

While both were enjoyable movies, I think I enjoyed the second Hellboy the best. The final fights scenes are pretty awesome. And did you realize Family Guy creator Seth MacFarlane was the voice of Krauss? I didn’t realize until looking it up the other day.

If you haven’t seen the Hellboy movies, they are definitely worth the rent on Netflix.

No. 3. X-Men

This is only including the first three X-Men movies. You could make an argument that X2 is one of the best superhero movies ever made, but the third X-Men movie caused the series to drop down on my list.

The first movie was a good setup for the rest of the series. I enjoyed how Wolverine and Rogue were the focus. Casting Hugh Jackman as Wolverine was the best decision that could have been made.

Nightcrawler alone made X2 an awesome movie. Add in the mystery of Wolverine’s backstory and the developing Iceman-Pyro story line. Plus the “death” of Jean Grey was a great ending.

What sucked about X3? Blame it on Cyclops dying so easily, no Nightcrawler, Storm’s lame dialogue, and the whole “cure” storyline. That kept it from being in the No. 2 spot.

2. Spiderman

While Spiderman 3 was a disappointment, the first two films were enough to keep the web-slinger hero in the No. 2 spot for me.

While most think Spiderman 2 is the best, I actually think the first film was my favorite. Spiderman 2 was too much like Superman 2 in my opinion. Plus, the first Spiderman had the rain kiss scene with Kirsten Dunst. Enough said (and I’m sure most guys would agree).

They are rebooting the series this summer with the Amazing Spiderman. I was completely against it until I saw the new trailer. Now…I’m intrigued.

1. Batman Begins and The Dark Knight

This really should come as no surprise. I don’t see any superhero movie ever topping Christopher Nolan’s Batman series.

While the Batman movies of the 90s were a bit cartoony, these Batman flicks focused more on how he truly became a dark knight.

The casting of these movies was brilliant. I’ve already professed my man crush for Christian Bale. Michael Cane is perfect as Alfred and Morgan Freeman was a nice touch.

Without a doubt, though, the villains are what separates the series from all other superhero movies. Scarecrow was well done in the first movie, as was Liam Neison as Ra’s al Ghul.

I think we can all agree Heath Ledger’s version of the Joker was perhaps an unbelievable performance. I think even if he hadn’t tragically passed away, he would have gotten the Oscar.

I can not wait for The Dark Knight Rises this summer, and I would venture to say it will cement its status of the top superhero movie franchise of all-time.

Mad ramblings

• With the basketball playoffs under way here, I am unveiling some cool features on our HCN websites. I am recording a podcast with a couple of the guys today. Then, beginning next week, I am running live chats at the regional basketball tournaments. Should be a lot of fun.

Here’s the link to our first podcasts:
PODCAST: Boys basketball first round playoff preview

• Finally, this story is courtesy of my brother Andy. It’s about a guy that is getting banned from sport events for getting Piggyback rides from high school players. Do I really need to say more?

Here’s the story of the “Piggyback Bandit.”

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Top Five: Superhero movies

  1. I still haven’t figured out the best way to process that Piggyback Bandit story. Sympathy for the players? For the guy? Horror at what he’s doing? How should I feel about this guy????

    Also, leaving out the original 1989 ‘Batman’. It’s the fucking reason superhero movies even made a comeback after “Quest for Peace”. You’re insane.

    Posted by southernmaninindy | February 17, 2012, 4:11 pm
    • Totally agree about the Piggybank Bandit. Is it funny? Is it sad? Is it all in good fun or extremely creepy? Hard to say.

      As for Batman, I guess it should have been in honorable mention. Batman and Robin keeps it from being in the top five, though. And honestly, X-Men is what really the movie that inspired the mass influx of superhero movies the past decade.

      Posted by Joshua Buckley | February 17, 2012, 4:43 pm
  2. I am in total agreement with Andy on the original Batman issue. It has to be in the top-5 and possibly No. 1 of all time. Nicholson, Keaton and Bassinger were awesome!!! Plus, Batman 2 was no slouch. These two should make up for the poop that followed!

    Posted by mattperdue | February 18, 2012, 11:14 pm
  3. I would die if I saw a man do that at one of my games!!

    Posted by Jenna Tubbs | February 22, 2012, 2:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Great scene at Concord Bridge - free BBQ and supply dropoff for a neighborhood flooded during the storm. #HoustonStrong #RollTide Proof that we have been surviving the storm. #Harvey #BeerMe Mandatory #Houston sunshine photo. Great to see after the past four days. This is the retention pond behind our neighborhood which is protecting our homes from being flooded. Earlier this week it was empty. Now there is more than 10-feet of water in it. It actually went down a bit this afternoon when we got a slight break from the rain. It can still hold another 12 or so feet before it goes over its bank. Hopefully it can hang in there the next few days. That moment when you realize #Harvey could prevent you from watching the #GOT finale.
