/
posts
Life

The two-party system is out of control

I’ve discussed in the past how I’m not into politics. With so much of my life dedicated to sports, I don’t really have the time or desire to study up on politics.

However, I have paid a bit more attention this year after being unemployed. The debates regarding unemployment, health care and tax rates have affected me more than ever.

However, each time I think I can finally get into politics, something happens that makes me sick of the whole process again.

The latest instance occurred Tuesday when a friend posted an article about an Indiana lawmaker who refused to support a resolution celebrating the 100th anniversary of the Girl Scouts. His reasoning — the Girl Scouts encourage sex and promote homosexuality.

Here is the link to the article by the Associated Press: Ind. lawmaker stands by Girl Scouts criticism

And here is Bob Morris’ original letter: Members of the Republic Caucus…

The Republican House Speaker said the stance was nonsense, but I bet there are plenty of people that agree with Morris’ opinion.

Here is one quote I found to be especially appalling in Morris’ letter: “Of the fifty role models listed, only three have a briefly-mentioned religious background – all the rest are feminists, lesbians, or Communists.”

Really? Really?

Why would someone take such a drastic view regarding the Girl Scouts? Here is your answer.

“The fact that the Honorary President of Girl Scouts of America is Michelle Obama, and the Obama’s are radically pro-abortion and vigorously support the agenda of Planned Parenthood, should give each of us reason to pause before our individual or collective endorsement of the organization.”

THIS is exactly why I hate politics. The two-party system has become sickening to watch. Basically if a Democrat supports something, the Republicans immediately oppose it, and vice versa.

What it has promoted with Americans is hatred and, in my mind, a form of brainwashing on what you should believe based on your political affiliation.

Case in point — when President Obama was going to speak with schools nationwide, millions of parents requested their children not be subjected to the speech.

IT’S THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES! HAVE SOME DAMN RESPECT!

The Republicans’ stance on the 1-percent and healthcare has frustrated me. They seem to forget there are lower middle class people out there like me that are adversely affected by these thing.

Then again, the Democrats only seem to talk a big game, but produce no results. Obama’s idea to start workshops for the unemployed to add new skills to their resumes was a great idea, but it hasn’t come to fruition.

The Democrats’ cutback on the space programs hasn’t exactly helped unemployment numbers, either.

I realize this extreme two-party thinking doesn’t involve everyone in the country, but those mindsets are becoming more and more prevalent. Is this really what the founding fathers had in mind? I think not.

I thought about voting for the first time in my life this year. However, after the latest crap I have been reading from both sides, I am probably going to pass again.

I can’t vote for the lesser of two evils. Until there is an overhaul that allows for a flexible form of thinking regarding major issues, consider me a bystander to the political nonsense.

Mad ramblings

UFC President Dana White said Floyd Mayweather is a racist. White is absolutely correct.

• Grantland had a preview of the Chicago Cubs season. In short, they are going to suck.

• Watched “Everything Must Go” with Will Ferrell the other night. If you liked “Lost in Translation,” you would like this movie. Dry humor with some good acting by Ferrell.

• Finally, I’m not surprised the headline writer for ESPN.com’s mobile site that used “Chink in the Armor” was fired. ESPN pretty much had to do that after such a huge gaffe.

I did feel bad for the ESPN anchor that was suspended for 30 days, though. In the past, chink in the armor has been an acceptable phrase, and I’m sure it wasn’t premeditated at all by the anchor. In fact, had the headline controversy not arisen, I bet the on-air gaffe would have gone unnoticed.

Moral of the story — you better have good judgment regarding headlines or on-air phrases. If not, it could cost you your job.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Friendly message from the postman that was left on my door. #YouveGotMail #RollTide Great scene at Concord Bridge - free BBQ and supply dropoff for a neighborhood flooded during the storm. #HoustonStrong #RollTide Proof that we have been surviving the storm. #Harvey #BeerMe Mandatory #Houston sunshine photo. Great to see after the past four days. This is the retention pond behind our neighborhood which is protecting our homes from being flooded. Earlier this week it was empty. Now there is more than 10-feet of water in it. It actually went down a bit this afternoon when we got a slight break from the rain. It can still hold another 12 or so feet before it goes over its bank. Hopefully it can hang in there the next few days.
