/
posts
Entertainment, Top Five

Top Five: XM Radio choices on my long commute

Taking the job at Moody Gardens, I knew there would be a long commute.

It’s 65 miles one-way, and while mostly freeways, it still can get backed up because, well, it’s Houston.

So how do I survive a nearly three-hour roundtrip commute to the island? XM Radio.

I’ve been an XM subscriber since 2005, and I really enjoy it. Sure it can be a tad pricey, but it is totally worth it, especially now with my commute.

To get a quick snapshot of my listening choices for my commute, here are a few Top 5 lists.

 

TOP FIVE SPORTS TALK RADIO SHOWS

Normally, my first choice on XM is to listen to sports radio. The commercial breaks stink, but usually I can just flip over to another show which isn’t in commercial break.

There are several annoying shows that I’m not a fan of, but there are a few that rise above the rest.

Last place. Any time Amy Lawrence is on ESPN Radio

I cannot stand her! Awful doesn’t accurately describe it.

5. Dino Costa Show

This evening show on Mad Dog Radio can be kind of fun. I don’t always agree with him, but he’s a big enough asshole to make it enjoyable.

4. Paul Finebaum

As an Alabama fan, I think I am obligated to listen. It’s nice to have this on XM Radio now.

3. The Herd

Again, I don’t always agree with Cowherd, but he makes some dumb arguments which give you a good laugh. I love when Awful Announcing calls him out on some of his BS.

2. Scott Van Pelt Show

This was my No. 1, but with the new work hours, I hardly get a chance to listen to it anymore. It’s a shame, because it is a real entertaining show.

1. Dan Patrick Show

Starts at 8 a.m., which is perfect for my commute. I’m a big fan of his interviewing skills, and the Danettes are good for some laughs.

 

TOP FIVE STATIONS

If I’m not in the mood for sports talk radio (normally on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday), I move to the other stations. I have an old school taste in music, so honestly, some of these selections for my favorite stations should come as no surprise.

5. Lithium

Has a good selection of alternative music from the 90s. I’d say it’s worth stopping on almost half the time.

4. Raw Dog Comedy

For the times when I’m not in a music mood, though this station can be hit or miss sometimes.

3. The Pulse (2000s and today)

This gets the edge over Z100 because there are no commercials.

2. 80s on 8

I’d say about 75-percent of the time, when I’m scanning the dial, I stop here. There always seems to be something I enjoy.

1. Hair Nation (80s Hair Bands)

If you know me, this is really no surprise.

 

FIVE WORST SONGS

Even the above stations aren’t always a sure thing. There are several “hit” songs that are played on those channels that I can not stand. In fact, if I flip on the station and see them playing, I immediately move on. These are some of the worst.

Dishonorable Mention

• Hey Soul Sister  – Train

Right up there with Drops of Jupiter for me. I enjoy the new Train songs, but this one gets on my nerves quick.

• Bennie and the Jets – Elton John

Without a doubt, Elton’s worst. Blah!

• Blue – Eiffel 65

Why do people like this song? Seriously, give me one reason.

5. We Are Young  – .fun

Overrated (clap, clap, clap clap clap)

4. Party Rock Anthem  – LMFAO

In fairness, I grew to hate this song because they played it constantly during high school basketball season. At one tournament, I heard it seven times in one day. Grr…

3. Anything Justin Bieber

No explanation needed.

2. Anything Maroon 5

I hate this group. Hate it, hate it, hate it. And XM constantly plays Payphone. It makes me want to scream!

1. Hotel California  – The Eagles

I have never understood the fascination with this song. I hate it. It’s boring and it makes no sense. And BTW, fuck you Chris Berman for always using this song!

 

TOP FIVE SONGS

And finally, there are certain guilty-pleasure songs that I love to hear played on XM. Note, I do not have these songs on my iPod, so I can’t just pull them up at any time. And yes, it is quite OK to laugh. Some of the choices are embarrassing.

Honorable Mention

• Africa – Toto

Mostly because it reminds me of Patrick Evans.

• We Belong – Pat Benatar

How can you not think of the end of Talladega Nights when you hear this song?

• Gangsta’s Paradise – Coolio

Hey, I’m not all white boy music over here.

• Hip Hop Horray – Naughty By Nature

Boogie and I have a fun time waving our arms to this song. It’s probably her second favorite behind Call Me, Maybe (aka, “The Number Song”).

5. Blow Me – Pink

I admit it, I’m a sucker for Pink singles. This new one is as entertaining as Raise Your Glass.

4. Because the Night – Springsteen

Not sure why this wasn’t on the Greatest Hits album that I purchased. Regardless, this is definitely one to jam out to when I find it on E Street Radio.

3. Heat of the Moment – Asia

At least I’m not alone here – Scoop admits to singing along to this on the radio as well. Loudly.

2. Good Time – Owl City and Carly Jepsen

I wish I could blame this on Boogie, but I’m not going to lie…I get into this song.

1. Cum on Feel the Noise – Quiet Riot

Why I don’t have this on my iPod is beyond me. It’s probably my favorite 80s song of all time.

This always seems to come on XM when I’m feeling tired and need a pick-me-up. People passing me probably get a laugh see me singing and playing the drums.

POI: If I was a baseball player, this would totally be my walk-up music.

 

Mad Ramblings

• Your Haro gem of the day:

Summary: In home self breast exam parties

Media Outlet: Patch

Breast cancer awareness month is coming up and some women are celebrating with wine, cheese and a self-check up. Women say they are looking to turn something important, but dreaded, into a social occasion. If you have hosted or been a guest to this kind of party, I’d like to hear about it. Please tell me how you got the idea, how you planned the event and how it was received.

Buckley’s Note: “Am I invited?” – guys everywhere

• Thank you Andy for letting me know about the website Smokin’ Jay Cutler. It’s pure genius.

He’s an asshole, but he’s our asshole!

• The new Hobbit trailer is out. I’m getting excited about its release in December.

• Finally, the MLB playoff race is coming down to the wire. I’m really enjoying the addition of the second wild card. With less than two weeks to go, here are my playoff predictions:

AL: Yankees (East), White Sox (Central), Rangers (West), Orioles (WC), Angels (WC)

I’ve got a feeling the Angels have one last run in them to push the A’s out.

NL: Nationals (East), Reds (Central), Giants (West), Braves (WC), Cardinals (WC)

Really the only thing up for grabs is that last wild card spot. The Brewers are playing better, but the Cards will be helped by a weak schedule down the stretch.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Top Five: XM Radio choices on my long commute

  1. “• Gangsta’s Paradise – Coolio

    Hey, I’m not all white boy music over here.”

    This is potentially the whitest comment. Ever. In History. By white people.

    Posted by southernmaninindy | September 20, 2012, 11:33 am
  2. Yes, I’ll gladly sing about finding yourself in ’82 and the possibility that the disco hall had lost its charm for you — even though I was a mere 1 year old in ’82.

    Posted by David Clemons | September 20, 2012, 12:41 pm
  3. Blow Me is currently my theme song lol

    Posted by sister in law | October 4, 2012, 11:53 am

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Cubs World Series picture and Red Robin. My girls know how to treat me on Father's Day. The sound quality wasn't too great at NRG last night, but the Metallica show was still amazing. Seeing them play so many songs from one of the best albums ever - The Black Album - was something I've always wanted to do. #bucketlist Ready for Metallica! Not gonna lie... I want this suit! Whelp, let's try this... #stopsnoring Linsey Alexander with a surprise cameo on the Blues guitar.
