/
posts
Life

Real men wear pink – except around 4-year-olds

I’m constantly reminded that I need to watch what I say around my little Boogie. She’s a smart little one, and isn’t afraid to use any new info her sponge brain absorbs.

Case in point: Last month, I got a new phone for my birthday and took her to Best Buy to help me pick out a case. She wanted me to get a pink one, but I said no, because I didn’t want to look like a girl.

Fast forward to later in the week when I wore a pink dress shirt to work. Hey, real men wear pink, and I always get a lot of compliments when I wear it.

Of course, when I picked Boogie up that day, she got a kick out of my shirt and couldn’t stop giggling about it.

The next week, Boogie gave me a belated birthday gift – this colored photo frame.

Pink shirt

Obviously it is a picture of me and her. But there was one detail with it that was quite curious. It led to this exchange.

Yeh-Peu-Dah: What is daddy wearing in your picture?

Boogie: A pink shirt.

Yeh-Peu-Dah: Why is he wearing a pink shirt?

Boogie: Because he dresses like a girl.

:-\

I guess the morale of the story is to buy a pink phone case when your daughter requests it. And if you don’t, it is probably best to avoid wearing pink shirts around her.

Mad Ramblings

• Congrats to my bro Andy for getting featured on “Freshly Pressed” for his blog about Seth MacFarlane hosting the Oscars. Hey Andy, now that you have 8 million subscribers, how bout throwing me a bone in your next blog post?

• After Dennis Rodman’s trip to North Korea, I’m wondering if my collectible figure will be re-released with a new ambassador outfit.

• The Airborne Toxic Event is releasing a special four-song selection from their new album on Monday. That is followed on Tuesday with the release of the new Bon Jovi album. Looks like I have some new music to jam to on my commute!

• Which headline/story is crazier: Pantless Arkansas woman tries to leave DWI scene in toy truck or US teens ‘had three-way sex on corpses of men they lured to their house, strangled to death and hog-tied’

Seriously, what the hell is wrong with people?

• How about this ultimate fail in design/headline writing: Rapefruit, eh?

• There has always been a running joke about the quick deaths of those wearing red in the original Star Trek series. This article points out that may not be entirely true. (BTW, how big of a nerd do you have to be to come up with that study?)

• Glasses to fix my colorblindness? Hmmm…

• After spending time breaking down the Miami Heat version of the Harlem Shake, it is clear ESPN is losing what little journalist credibility it still had left.

• Finally, for my Boogie and Grandpa’s birthdays (they were both born on March 3), I organized a penguin encounter at Moody Gardens. Boogie had met a penguin before, but of course, she wanted to do it again. The reaction from my grandpa was awesome. He loved it, and that truly made it an experience I will never forget.

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

One thought on “Real men wear pink – except around 4-year-olds

  1. I’m currently accepting “referral fees” in exchange for being featured in my now super-cool-a-number-1 blog.

    Posted by Andrew Heaton | March 6, 2013, 4:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Cubs World Series picture and Red Robin. My girls know how to treat me on Father's Day. The sound quality wasn't too great at NRG last night, but the Metallica show was still amazing. Seeing them play so many songs from one of the best albums ever - The Black Album - was something I've always wanted to do. #bucketlist Ready for Metallica! Not gonna lie... I want this suit! Whelp, let's try this... #stopsnoring Linsey Alexander with a surprise cameo on the Blues guitar.
