/
posts
Sports

Horrible Predictions: NFL Playoffs ’14

My horrible predictions usually live up to their name, but man, my NFL prognostication skills were especially awful this year.

I thought I had solid logic behind my Houston-New York Giants Super Bowl prediction. Instead, they went a combined 9-23 and are both picking in the top 10 in the draft.

FML.

At least I was right about the Chiefs making the playoffs and Peyton Manning being MVP.

My predictions were so awful that it is not even worth revisiting them. So let’s just go into my postseason predictions that are almost certainly going to be proven to be pathetic.

Wild Card

Philadelphia over New Orleans: The Eagles are playing lights out right now while New Orleans had a rough couple of road games to end the year. It will be close for a while, but I don’t see the Saints stopping Philly’s run game late.

San Francisco over Green Bay: First off, the media needs to lay off on the Packers struggling to sell playoff tickets for this weekend. The wind chill is going to be negative-30 for the game. NEGATIVE-30! I wouldn’t go either.

As for the game, the 49ers have a team build for cold weather games like this. Kaepernick isn’t going to go nucking futs like last year, but San Fran still wins easily.

Kansas City over Indianapolis: The Chiefs essentially had a bye last week, which should recharge their starters heading into this game. I know the Colts beat Kansas City a few weeks ago, but I still think the Chiefs are going to take this one.

San Diego over Cincinnati: Doesn’t it always seem like the Chargers win games they have no business winning? The Bengals are good, no doubt, but I still don’t trust Andy Dalton in the postseason.

Divisional

Philadelphia over Carolina: This should be an interesting game with the Eagles’ offense against the Panthers’ stellar defense. But does Carolina have enough offense if this does turn into a second-half shootout? I’m not so sure.

Seattle over San Francisco: The best home field advantage in football will again be a factor, as Kaepernick struggles again in Seattle. The Seahawks will win by double digits.

Denver over San Diego: Manning and the Broncos will be better prepared for San Diego this time around. Look for Denver to go for the kill early to avoid a repeat of last year.

Kansas City over New England: I’m going out on a limb here, but I don’t think the Patriots have enough offense to win in the playoffs without Gronkowski (I don’t care about what they did in the Baltimore game a few weeks back.) This will be low scoring, but the Chiefs defense gets a late stop for the upset.

Conference Championship

Philadelphia over Seattle: I keep going back and forth here. I’m not confident in this pick at all, but I think if anyone can upset the Seahawks in Seattle, the Eagles are the team.

Denver over Kansas City: Third time will not be the charm for the Chiefs, as Manning has a big second half and heads to his third Super Bowl.

Super Bowl

Denver 34, Philadelphia 31

This has the potential to be a very good game. Don’t expect much defense, but the Broncos special teams will ultimately be the difference. I’d trust Matt Prater to make a late field goal and give Denver the win and the title.

Mad Ramblings

• After watching Bama get depantsed by Oklahoma in the Sugar Bowl, I’m glad the Tide didn’t make it to the BCS title game. Florida State would have killed them. Outside of Mosley, the Bama defense was not very good this year. The secondary was especially putrid against spread offenses.

• He didn’t have his best game against Oklahoma, but I still think A.J. McCarron is the second best quarterback in the upcoming draft behind Johnny Manziel. I’m just not sold on Teddy Bridgewater like some people are.

• I enjoyed watching the whole Saban to Texas deal fall apart on the Longhorns. Texas fans still haven’t learned that money isn’t everything, especially when you see how meddlesome the boosters and trustees are. Saban has full control at Bama, and he’s not about to leave a cushy situation like that, especially with perhaps his best recruiting class ever coming in.

This article about all the people who blew the Saban story was fantastic: Just Plain Wrong

• I love Houston’s hiring of Bill O’Brien as head coach. They needed a more emotional guy leading the team, and O’Brien is that guy. It’s a risk, but I think it’s a good one.

• Chicago re-signed Jay Cutler for seven years (three guaranteed). Based on what I’ve read about the contract, it’s a pretty good deal for the Bears and Cutler. This allows them to focus solely on the pathetic defense in free agency and the draft.

• While not as good as the original (which was pretty much impossible), I enjoyed Anchorman 2. Stayed true to the characters and had some pretty funny moments.

• The new Hobbit movie was fantastic. I’d rate it the second best movie in the whole Hobbit/LOTR series, behind The Two Towers.

• Yeh-Peu-Dah got me a private flight lesson for Christmas. Yes, I get to fly a plane! I’m super stoked.

• I’m going to Disney World in May. My dad is treating us to a family trip to the happiest place on Earth. I’m not sure I’ve been this excited for a vacation in a long time.

• Finally, I share this Arnold Schwarzenegger video without comment…

Bear Down and Keep the Faith!

About Joshua Buckley

I used to be a Sports Editor. Now I'm the Media Relations Manager at the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Instagram: @dabearsman

Cubs World Series picture and Red Robin. My girls know how to treat me on Father's Day. The sound quality wasn't too great at NRG last night, but the Metallica show was still amazing. Seeing them play so many songs from one of the best albums ever - The Black Album - was something I've always wanted to do. #bucketlist Ready for Metallica! Not gonna lie... I want this suit! Whelp, let's try this... #stopsnoring Linsey Alexander with a surprise cameo on the Blues guitar.
